Chocolate Peanut Granola Bar from Olympic Granola

Posted: February 20, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  Olympic Granola on Foodzie

Product Description:

Our Chocolate Peanut Trail Bar combines peanuts, coconut, chocolate and oats for a tasty, healthy snack. It’s the perfect companion for a rigorous workout or as a healthy meal replacement.

What I Think:

OK… I’ll be honest, when I saw this in my February Tasting Box from Foodzie, I wasn’t tremendously excited.  I’m not big on granola bars (if given a choice, I’d rather have trail mix).  Interestingly enough, it was the first item I decided to try despite my misgivings.

According to the card that was included in the Tasting Box, this was supposed to be the Almond Chocolate Trail Bar, but I got the Chocolate Peanut.  A little disappointing, because if given the choice between almond and peanut, I would have chosen the almond.

Oh well… at least this gives me the opportunity to step outside my comfort zone a little!

When I first opened the package, my first observation was that it was very much like a granola bar.  It looked like a granola bar and it was slightly sticky to the touch like a soft granola bar.

But – WOW!  What a delicious granola bar (err… trail bar)!

There is a nice amount of crunch to the bar.  It is a soft, chewy bar (it isn’t one of those hard granola bars you’d find in the grocery store) with the peanuts, sunflower seeds and flax seeds adding some crunchy texture to the bar, while the oats and coconut give it a chewy consistency.  It has a sweet taste, but it isn’t sickeningly sweet.

The chocolate in this is more like a thin layer of creamy smooth chocolate rather than chocolate morsels.  A great improvement over the typical chocolate chip granola bar, as I find that the chocolate morsels in granola bars tend to be rather hard to the tooth and not very “comforting” as far as chocolate goes.  And when you get right down to it, when it comes to chocolate, it should be a comforting food.  This rich, creamy layer of chocolate is soft to the tooth and incredibly comforting!

When I first considered this granola bar, I had thought to myself that it was something that I probably wouldn’t order again.  But now that I’ve tasted it, it is something that I could see myself ordering.  It’s really delicious.

And not only is it tasty, but it is very satisfying to an empty stomach, too!   Really delicious with a cup of tea.

My final thoughts:

This is a granola bar that will change your thoughts about granola bars.

Leave a Reply

