Pumpkin Seed Kale Cracker from Twin Cakes Bakery

Posted: March 17, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAYto celebrate, I thought I’d review the greenest cracker I’ve ever come across!

Where to Buy:  Twin Cakes Bakery on Foodzie

Product Description:

More than just a flax cracker or kale chip. Thin and crispy cracker packed with nutrition. Made with the dark leafy green kale. Kale is full of phytonutrients and high in vitamin C, A, and K. Full of iron, protein, and Omegas! A cracker you will not find anywhere else.

What I Think:

OK… let me be real honest – this was the item in my tasting box I was least excited about.  It is not something I would have even thought about purchasing, so had it not been in this box, I would have never had the opportunity to try it.

And, well, I’m glad I did have this opportunity to try it.  Because it’s pretty tasty.

It has a very lightweight feel to the cracker – even though it looks incredibly dense.  It has a crispy texture which kind of distracts the mind from thinking that it’s consuming something incredibly healthy.  It feels like junk food, only it isn’t.

The texture as I chew this cracker reminds me a bit of a thick corn tortilla chip (more like a taco shell kind of corn tortilla rather than a thin, crispy chip).  The flavor is very strong and vegetative and tastes like … well, like kale.  I can also taste the pumpkin seed flavor and as I continue to munch on these, the flavor of the pumpkin seed develops nicely.

There is a bit of vegetable sweetness to the cracker, as well as a bitter taste to it that is attributed to the kale, giving this a pleasant savory appeal.  This would be very nicely paired with cheese, and the cheese that immediately comes to mind is a Wasabi White Cheddar (I find this at my local Chuck’s Produce).  The sharpness of the cheddar and the heat from the wasabi horseradish would really round out the flavors of this cracker very nicely.  A pleasant spicy dip would also be delicious with these crackers.  It also tastes rather nice right out of the bag while sipping a cup of spicy chai like this Spicy Seattle Chai from MarketSpice.

Will I buy these crackers again?  I don’t know.  But I will say that I wouldn’t overlook them like I would have before trying them.  I enjoyed them, and I think they may end up being something that I miss a couple of weeks down the road when I get that urge for a snack that will satisfy my hunger while not leaving me feeling weighed down.

My Final Thoughts:

These crackers ended up being a rather pleasant savory experience, and I found them to be very satisfying and even energizing when I had the urge to snack.    It’s also a great way to enjoy your greens without having the embarrassment of having a speck of green leaf caught between your front teeth!

Leave a Reply

