‘Bert Bar from Bees & Beans

Posted: March 19, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  Bees & Beans on Foodzie

Product Description:

Crunchy, crispy, salty, and sweet, the ‘Bert bar has a satisfying crunch and comforting flavors. A filling of milk chocolate, filberts, crispy rice, honey, and peanut butter combines with dark chocolate to make an addicting treat.

What I Think:

If anyone’s been keeping track, you’ll know that all that I have left from my March Tasting Box is chocolate and tea.  My two favorite food groups!

The Foodzie homepage shows that the Honey Bar was to be in the tasting box, but that’s OK… the ‘Bert Bar seems more like the candy bar I would have selected for myself.  I love the contrast between salty and sweet!  I also love that this company is local!

I am actually finding it difficult to chat about this candy bar, because it tastes so good that I just want to eat.   But I shall try my best!

Unwrapped, the candy bar looks very much like a candy bar you might buy from the corner convenience store.  But that is where the similarity ends.  Let’s start with the wrapper which is in itself pretty unique as it is made of biodegradable cellophane.

The aroma is chocolate-y and nutty.  And when I bite into the bar – candy bar bliss!  The chocolate is smooth and sweet with a hint of bitterness to it.  Because the dark chocolate shell is rather thin in comparison to the filling, it is difficult to tell of its quality when eaten with the rest of the bar.  But I took a little sliver off of the bar to see if I could get a “snap” from the chocolate.  Yep… it’s there.  This is the good stuff!

Inside the dark chocolate coating is a filling that looks like milk chocolate ganache with chopped nuts.  It’s a very dense-looking filling, but, possesses a very light texture.  Very smooth and creamy.  You might think that the milk chocolate and peanut butter would create a very thick, stick-to-the-roof-of-your-mouth kind of texture, but, this is very light – probably because of the addition of crisped rice which also adds a nice crispiness to the bar.

The nutty flavor from the filberts and peanut butter is better than any peanut butter cup I’ve ever tasted.  This tastes fresh and not overly processed.  It just tastes smooth, rich and creamy with a nice crunch from the filberts.

This is an absolutely delicious candy bar.  I just finished the bar and am thinking about ordering more right now because I know I am going to want another very soon.  Totally YUM!

My Final Thoughts:

I am not going to go so far as to say that this is my favorite candy bar or the best candy bar I’ve ever tried because whatever chocolate I happen to have in front of me tends to be my favorite.  (yeah, I’m a chocoholic, remember?)  But I will say that this candy bar is an explosion of flavor.  Warning:  This candy bar can become addictive!

Comments
  1. Nicole says:

    I am going to have to find this! Milk chocolate doesn’t often do much for me, but you made this sound sooooo good! I love your reviews – so descriptive.

Leave a Reply

