Cocomels from JJ’s Sweets

Posted: March 27, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Product Description:

JJ’s Chocolate-covered Cocomels start with the same mouth-watering Cocomels (coconut milk caramels), cooked a little softer than normal, which we then hand-dip in premium dark chocolate. It is the magical evolution of the Cocomel, still vegan, gluten, and corn free, just more decadent.

Where to Buy:  JJ’s Cocomels on Foodzie

Chocolate Covered Java Cocomels

What I think:

In my March Tasting Box, I received three different Cocomels from JJ’s Sweets:  a Chocolate Covered Java Cocomel, a Chocolate Covered Fleur de Sel Cocomel, and a Fleur de Sel Cocomel… my mouth is watering already!

I am starting with the Java Cocomel, mostly because I’m not a coffee drinker, and I know how much I love salted caramel so I have a pretty good idea that I will LOVE the Salted Cocomels.  I am pretty sure I’ll enjoy the Java one too, but, not quite as much.

The chocolate coating is a dark chocolate, and it is sweet with a nice level of bitterness in the background, and it has a snap to it.  It is a fresh and rich chocolate.  This chocoholic is happy!

The coffee flavoring is quite strong with this, but I don’t feel that it overpowers the flavor of the chocolate or the flavor of the caramel (err… cocomel).  The cocomel is quite interesting.  It tastes very much like caramel, it tastes buttery, sweet and decadent.  Very thick and sticky, just like a good caramel should be.  And I can taste the coconut aspect to this cocomel too, but it isn’t so prevalent as I expected it to be.  It is more of a background note.  This has that good old-fashioned caramel taste – like it’s been caramelized in a copper pot.

It’s delicious!

Moving on to the Fleur de Sel Cocomel … this is where I expect to get more of the “true” cocomel taste without the chocolate or coffee taste.  The coconut is much more apparent in this sweet, gooey, chewy stick of cocomel.  And with each bite I am finding myself falling in love with cocomel!

The Chocolate Covered Fleur de Sel Cocomel … well, it is reminding me of the moment that I first fell in love with salted caramel… the local gift shop sold some very expensive chocolate covered salted caramels that I absolutely adored … but couldn’t afford to buy very often.  At $8.95 for a six-piece box, these Chocolate Covered Fleur de Sel Cocomels are a little more affordable, and they are every bit as delicious as those gourmet chocolates… perhaps even a little more intriguing in flavor due to the coconut milk aspect, which offers a hint of coconut flavor in the distance.

Personally, my favorite of the three that I tasted this evening is the Fleur de Sel Cocomel (without the chocolate, believe it or not!) because I really enjoy the stronger flavor of the coconut in the un-covered caramels.  And these confections are an even better bargain:  just $3.99 for a 4 pack!  If you love caramel like I do, I strongly recommend trying some of these for yourself!  They’re amazing!

My Final Thoughts:

These caramels are a vegan delight – even for those of us who aren’t vegan!

Leave a Reply

