Plantain Chips from Estrellita’s Snacks

Posted: April 25, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  Estrellita’s Snacks on Foodzie

Product Description:

Estrellita’s Snacks plantain chips are hand-cut and fried in 100% vegetable oil, for a taste that will exceed your expectations.

What I Think:

To tell the truth, I don’t know that I had any expectations when I opened this bag from my April Foodzie Tasting Box. So, in response to the provided description, since I had no real expectations before biting into one of these chips, it was very easy to exceed them.

That being said, these are quite enjoyable.  I like the texture.  They provide a good, solid crunch.  I don’t have a whole lot of experience when it comes to plantains.  I’ve tasted sautéed plantains on a steak sandwich from TGI Fridays, I’ve tasted plantain essence in teas, and I think I’ve had plantains a few other times, but, nothing comes to immediate memory.  I’ve seen them many times in the grocery store next to the bananas (and I have a lot of experience with bananas) and I know that even though they LOOK like bananas, they don’t really taste much like a banana.

So even though these look a lot like banana chips, they don’t taste like them.    Actually, they taste a bit like a thick potato chip, but with a little bit more sweetness.  The texture and crunch of these chips is a bit softer than a typical banana chip, but more substantial than a thick potato chip.  I can taste a “banana like” sweetness in the distance with these, but, it is in the far distance.  The best way I can think of to describe what I’m eating is it’s like a lightly salted, thick cut potato chip made from a very exotic potato.

I think they would be quite good served with a dip (perhaps one made with the horseradish dill mustard that is also included in this month’s box?), although before I could think of getting out the mustard, I had finished my bag of plantain chips!

My Final Thoughts:

These tasty chips have truly exceeded my expectations.  They can become quite addicting and it’s hard to stop eating them once you’ve started!  When I first opened the bag, I thought “these are alright, but nothing spectacular or that memorable.”  Now that the bag is gone and I realize how quickly I finished them, I realize that they are much more than “alright” – they’re really quite delicious.

Leave a Reply

