Alfajores from Sabores del Sur

Posted: May 15, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  La Cocina on Foodzie

Product Description:

La Cocina’s is a nonprofit food business incubator located in San Francisco. Sabores del Sur is part of the La Cocina family and makes her traditional South American alfajores. Tender shortbread cookies are filled with a creamy Dulce De Leche for the perfect combination.

What I Think:

Amazing!  These are so incredible.

Of course, I had no doubt that I would love these cookies when I received them as part of my Foodzie tasting box for May.  I love Dulce de Leche, I love shortbread – how could I not love these?

The shortbread is very tender and flaky.  So tender that it begins to fall apart as I bite into it – so a plate is recommended for these (unless you want shortbread crumbs and powdered sugar all over!)  These rich shortbread cookies melt in your mouth!

The Dulce de Leche filling is creamy and smooth.  This “milk candy” is sweet, yet, not quite as cloying as a typical buttery caramel would be.  It has a very silky texture that provides an excellent contrast to the flaky shortbread.

These cookies make a terrific tea-time treat (although they are a bit messier than the typical tea cookie).  I devoured my cookies with a cup of French Vanilla Assam from 52Teas – one of my favorite teas.  The sweet vanilla taste from the Assam enhanced the sweet, caramelized flavor of the Dulce de Leche beautifully.  YUM!

My Final Thoughts:

I don’t know that there really is much more to say than this:  these are so good.  So very very good.  I may just have to get more of these!

Comments
  1. Norman says:

    This makes me so happy. I just got back from Buenos Aires, and I am kicking myself for not bringing home ten boxes of alfajores. These appear to be slightly different than the ones I ate there, but who cares? They are shortbread and dulce de leche! Thank you for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

