SeaSnax Roasted Seaweed Snack

Posted: May 17, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  SeaSnax on Foodzie

Product Description:

The Classic Grab & Go is a small convenient version of the Classic Single – grab it & throw it in your bag or lunchbox! It’s the same great Classic ingredients: seaweed, olive oil & sea salt.

What I Think:

Of the many items that comprised our May Tasting Box from Foodzie, this was the item that intimidated me most.  The last time I tasted something like this was a good many years ago (more years than I care to admit to), when a co-worker came into the office with a jar full of seaweed sheets.  He gave me a piece and I did not like it.

Well, not much has changed, I’m sad to say.  This is the first item from a tasting box – since I subscribed in February – that I did not enjoy.  But, I will try to be objective in this review…

The package contains ten small, extraordinarily thin sheets of SeaSnax.  These are so thin that if you hold them up to light, you can almost see through them.  I say almost because even though they’re very thin, they are not translucent.

When I bite into it, it reminds me of the texture of the membrane of an onion.  You know those thin sheets between the onion layers?  Kind of dry yet slimy?  To the tooth, it is almost like lettuce that has been severely wilted and then dried.

But even more bothersome than the texture to me is the taste.  Seaweed must be quite an acquired taste, and it is one that even throughout my years of drinking green tea, I’ve yet to acquire.  It is highly vegetative and quite salty.  I can taste the note of olive oil in these, as well as a roasted flavor in the background.

It is actually the roasted flavor that I am enjoying most about these.  Unfortunately, it is not strong enough to overpower the strong vegetative taste and that is quite off-putting for me, I’m afraid.  The olive oil is also a nice note, but, again, it isn’t enough to offset the seaweed taste.

So, I didn’t like these, but, I would hope that you don’t let that persuade you.  We all have different palates, and appreciate different flavors.  This may be right up your alley – it just isn’t my thing.

My Final Thoughts:

I think I probably would only like these if they were dipped (heavily) in chocolate.  Sorry.  If you liked them, please comment here – I’d love to hear from you!

Comments
  1. RachanaC says:

    OMG! I would love these. Where can I find them. It just seems so right up my alley.

  2. Anne Downen says:

    Hi Rachel! You can find them on Foodzie. Here is the link to SeaSnax online shop: http://seasnax.foodzie.com/

  3. Jennifer says:

    I hope to try them soon! 🙂 SO HAPPY THEY ARE VEGAN!

Leave a Reply

