Pine-4-Pineapple from Peeled Snacks

Posted: May 21, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  Peeled Snacks on Foodzie

Product Description:

10 single serving snacks (1.48 oz.) Are you pining for the exotic taste of the tropics? Peeled Snacks brings the tropical flavors of Central America straight to you in a healthy treat you can take with you anywhere! Take a bite out of our juicy pineapple rings loaded with vitamin C, vitamin B1 and Manganese — and no added sugar! Enjoy the guiltless pleasure of this satisfying snack. Pineapple also helps digestion.

What I Think:

These are much different than I was expecting.  Having tasted dried pineapple before, I expected the sugary sweet, almost-confection-like taste that I experienced then.  But while this has a natural sweetness to it, it isn’t a overwhelmingly sweet candy-like snack.  That’s because these snacks contain only one ingredient:  organic pineapple.  No sugar or preservatives or anything else.

The drying process that this pineapple has undergone seems to emphasize not only the sweetness of a pineapple but also the tartness of it.  These bites of pineapple have the concentrated, pure flavor of the fruit – sweet yet tart – and a very satisfying chewy texture.

And I think that it is the texture that I am enjoying most about these snacks.  It is almost like a piece of chewy candy, but without the sticky, sugary feeling that is left on the teeth.

These snacks are rather irresistible.  When I first opened the pouch and nibbled on my first piece, I thought I would be able to put the rest away for another time… but then one piece became two, and then I tried yet another… and before I knew it, the package was empty!

My Final Thoughts:

These snacks have really changed my thoughts on dried fruit.  The flavor is intense and it is naturally sweet without added sugars or other ingredients.  These snacks are deliciously energizing!

Leave a Reply

