Classic Wedding Cake Lollipop from The Groovy Baker

Posted: May 28, 2011 in Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  The Groovy Baker on Etsy

Product Description:

In honor of ‘Will and Kate’ ~ here is their wedding cake on a stick!

Fruitcakes are (and have been) the traditional wedding cake in England ~ when they’re made properly are oh-so-*yummeh*

~ not anything like we know them to be here in the U.S!

Can’t make it to London? Stay home and savor the flavors of pure Vanilla, Orange Zest, Pan Toasted Almonds, Pecans, Chopped Apricots and Dates

~ a splash of Brandy, and a dusting Ginger and Vietnamese Cinnamon round it all out….

Topped with a sprinkling of 23K edible gold dust ~ for a bit of fabulousness.

Cheers!

What I Think:

This is one of THREE free sample lollipops that I received with my order.  I was thrilled because this is one that I was wanting to try, but not sure that I wanted to have a full order of it.  Well, now that I am tasting it, I can tell you that I would have been very happy with a full order!  This is incredible.

Let me start with its appearance – it looks like no lollipop I’ve ever seen.  It is full of nuts and fruit – just like a fruitcake!  And it is gilded with edible gold, giving this a beautiful, luxurious (and sparkly) sheen.

One thing that kind of held me back from ordering this lollipop was the ingredient list.  It seemed to have too much going on.  I mean, how could this possibly taste good?  But it does!

The vanilla is the most obvious flavor here, but, it isn’t a cloying or obnoxiously overwhelming flavor.  The hint of cinnamon and ginger even the sweeter tones of the vanilla out – creating a flavor that is mildly spiced (but certainly not at all spicy) and creamy.  It gives a very “cake-like” kind of base for the other flavors in the lollipop.

The fruity notes from the apricot, date and orange are subtle flavors that develop as I continue to enjoy the lollipop, as are the sweet, nutty tones from the pecan and almond.  Together this is a delightful marriage of flavors (please pardon the pun, I couldn’t resist).

The best part of this lollipop:  getting to chew on the fruit and nut bits once I’ve dissolved enough of the candy!  The candied fruit and nut pieces are so yummy!

My Final Thoughts:

I really loved this lollipop – a whole lot more than I thought I would.  It is scrumptious!  I hope that The Groovy Baker doesn’t mind, but, I am going to forward the information about this lollipop to one of my favorite tea vendors to see if he can make a black tea version of this “Classic Wedding Cake,” because I would love to enjoy this in tea form!

Leave a Reply

