Roasted Garlic & Rosemary Crackers from O Pair

Posted: June 9, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  O Pair on Foodzie

Product Description:

Garlic may keep vampires away, but if you serve these roasted garlic and rosemary delights, you’ll attract everyone else! We lovingly hand-roast our garlic in small batches to the peak of heady, sweet, caramelized perfection and mix it with earthy, resiny rosemary for a peerless pairing of the pungent and the subtle into a miraculously smooth mellowness.

O Perfectly Paired :: Our Roasted Garlic & Rosemary biscuits soften and enhance a crisp, lean Chardonnay. They go exceptionally well with a voluptuous Pinot Noir and reveal why it’s called “sex in a glass.” For a real treat, try them with a light, sweet Schiava and watch the conversation spark.

What I Think:

After having tasted their Blue Cheese & Fig crackers (as well as their Lemon & Mint crackers), I had no doubt whatsoever that I’d also enjoy their other varieties.  This one appealed to me most as I do love garlic, and especially roasted garlic.  It has a sweetness to it that I find irresistible.

The light salt in the dough helps to eliminate the bitter taste that might otherwise be experienced with the rosemary, and what remains is the savory qualities of the herb.  It has a light pine-like taste to it, slightly resinous, and a lovely earthy quality.  What I’m liking most about the rosemary here is that the needle-like leaves are finely chopped and tender – not withy like rosemary can sometimes be. Very nice.

The cracker is lightly sweet with a deliciously tender texture that is delicately crisp and melts in your mouth the way a shortbread cookie might.  This is, all at once:  salty, sweet, savory, and just very, very delicious!

While O Pair recommends pairing this with a wine – I recommend a good Darjeeling tea, perhaps a Margaret’s Hope like this one from Joy’s Teaspoon.  The spice notes of the Darjeeling are delightful when matched with the sweet, savory tones of this cracker.  Serve these at your next tea (or wine) tasting for a bit of culinary nirvana!

My Final Thoughts:

I have tried a few crackers now from O Pair and I must say I am a fan.  I would happily recommend any cracker from this company with complete confidence.  They are uncommonly good – the kind of cracker you’d serve with pride to your guests.  Delicious!

Leave a comment