Apricot Saffron Lollipop from The Groovy Baker

Posted: June 12, 2011 in Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  The Groovy Baker on Etsy

Product Description:

Sweet Apricots and fresh Egyptian saffron come together and it’s all just meant to be.

pretty, delicate orange with saffron thread throughout ~ a generous dose of vanilla rounds it all out.

yum.

pure cane sugar, no corn syrup ever.

What I Think:

This is yet another of the free sample lollipops that I received with my order, and I was really happy to receive this one, because I nearly purchased the Apricot Saffron instead of the Grapefruit Rosemary lollipops, and I am glad that I have the chance to try the one that I decided not to buy.

These are simply amazing, although as I type that I’m hoping that the word “simply” does not minimize The Groovy Baker’s work and the love that she puts into them.

The apricot is sweet and luscious!  The saffron in the lollipop tones down the sweetness just a little bit, just enough so that some of the juicier, fruitier tones of the apricot could be experienced.  I felt like I could actually taste the flesh of the apricot!  Remarkable!  The saffron is not a strong flavor, but it does bring just a hint of savory bitterness and subtle nutty tones to the lollipop.  It also adds depth to the vanilla flavor.

The balance of flavors is absolutely genius, with each ingredient bringing out the best in the other ingredients.  A beautiful work of culinary synergy!

My Final Thoughts:

Well, I guess it’s no big surprise by now that I’m a fan of The Groovy Baker’s lollipops, and just when I think I’ve found a favorite, I try a different one and change my mind …  So, forget about it.  They’re all my favorites!

Leave a Reply

