Pistachio Chocolate Chunk Biscotti from Biscotti Bari

Posted: June 18, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  Biscotti Bari on Foodzie

Price:  $8.00 for approximately 20 bite-size pieces of biscotti (5.29 ounce package)

Product Description:

Our Pistachio Chocolate Chunk Biscotti are packed full of San Franciso’s TCHO Chocolate and California grown roasted pistachios. Chocolately, nutty, crunchy…a biscotti lover’s treat!

What I Think:

After sampling the biscotti offerings in the May Tasting Box, I knew I had to order more of the biscotti from Biscotti Bari.  I loved both the Lemon Poppyseed and the Authentic Almond Biscotti that was included in the tasting box, but I must admit that there was just something exceptional about the Authentic Almond.   Along with a full-size Authentic Almond, I also ordered this and the Apricot Pecan biscotti (which I shall review later).

I was very pleased with the speed in which my order arrived!  Also tucked inside the box with my order was a handwritten note of thanks – I like that personal touch!

But let’s get on to the review, shall we?  This biscotti is amazing.  I love the texture!  It is quite crisp, they way one might expect a biscotti to be (biscotto means twice baked), but there is a lightness to it too.  It isn’t so hard that one is likely to chip a tooth if they bite into it without first dipping it in tea (I like Keemun with biscotti), although I must say that I do prefer dipping it before taking a bite.

This biscotti is incredibly decadent.  The cocoa of the biscotti is rich, and there are BIG chunks of creamy chocolate in the biscotti (they warm up just enough when dipped into the hot tea!)  There are also large bits of crunchy pistachio in the biscotti.  As much as I love chocolate, I like the way the pistachio sort of cuts through some of the richness of the chocolate.  I think it would become a bit too much if they weren’t there.

As it is, though, it is a nice balance of flavors.  Just enough nutty flavor to keep it interesting, but also intensely, deliciously chocolate-y.  It is almost sinful!  The chocolate, the pistachios… YUM!

My Final Thoughts:

If you love chocolate, you really MUST try this biscotti.  But be warned, once you try the biscotti from Biscotti Bari, there is no turning back… you’ll never want ordinary biscotti again!

Leave a Reply

