Blue Raspberry Sno-Cone Lollipop from The Groovy Baker

Posted: June 24, 2011 in Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  The Groovy Baker on Etsy

Price:  $10. for a package of 7 lollipops

Product Description:

Blue Raspberry ~ 100% Awesomeness, 0% Pretense

Made with *real* blue!! <–HA! Oh, how I crack myself up =)

Seriously ~

I was always intrigued by ‘blue raspberry flavor’ it’s awesome….but blue doesn’t have anything at all to do with raspberries….so….huh???? Please understand I was a pastry-chef-in-training, so I might have different experiences than ‘normal’ kids *laughing*

But it was my favorite ~ picture a hot, sunny day in your childhood…showing off your newly ‘blue’ tongue…good times, my friend, good times.

These have a generous dose of pure vanilla in addition to the raspberry…..so they’re a bit easier on your grown-up palette

100% Pure Cane Sugar – Never any Corn Syrup

What I Think:

This is another (and the last) of the free sample lollipops I received with my order from The Groovy Baker.  I am not sure why I decided to save this one for last because to honest, this is the one I figured I’d like least.  Not that I dislike raspberry or sno-cones… but it just seemed a little ordinary.  A little like something I could get anywhere.  You know?

Boy, was I wrong!  Yes, the raspberry flavor is there, but it certainly isn’t an ordinary raspberry flavor!  This tastes authentic.  This tastes like raspberry and vanilla.  It doesn’t taste like an artificially flavored raspberry candy.

This is a sweeter raspberry though, the tartness of the berry isn’t there as much as I might have expected.  But I’m not disappointed because I’m not overly fond of tartness anyway.  The vanilla gives it a smooth, creamy flavor.  And yes… my tongue IS blue!

My Final Thoughts:

Don’t judge a lollipop before you lick it!  Pure yummy goodness from The Groovy Baker.  And… I’m so happy to see that they’re back in action now (their shop was on vacation for a while there) because I might just need to place another order soon!

Leave a Reply

