Falafel Chips from Flamous Brands

Posted: June 27, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  Flamous Brands on Foodzie

Price:  $19.99 for four 8-ounce bags

Product Description:

Loaded with a mouthwatering blend of beans, vegetables, herbs, and spices, our low sodium and All Natural chips are the perfect, crunchy snack! Tasting just like the Mediterranean Falafel sandwich, these gluten free chips are simply delicious.

What I Think:

Well, I feel I should start by saying that this isn’t my first time trying these falafel chips.  I first discovered them at Chuck’s Produce in Vancouver, WA, and promptly bought a bag because I love falafel!  (A snack size bag – 1.6 ounces – at Chuck’s was about a dollar, I think.)  I enjoyed my first bag, so I was very happy to receive another in June’s Tasting Box!

As I said, I love falafel.  Some years ago (more years than I care to admit to), I was a vegetarian.  I had to discontinue the diet during my pregnancy with my youngest daughter, as ordered by my doctor.  While I was a vegetarian, though, falafel was one of my favorite dishes, but to tell the truth, since that time, I haven’t had falafel more than a handful of times.  I didn’t realize how much I had missed it until I opened this bag of chips, though!  The distinct smell of falafel burst through the bag!  My mouth started watering instantly.

These chips look a lot like seasoned tortilla chips.  The texture is similar to tortilla chips as well.  They are crunchy and are fairly substantial, they could withstand whatever dip you want to pile on to them (although they are quite tasty without dip).  My favorite dip for these is hummus, although in a pinch ranch dip (or onion dip) tastes really good too.  Hint:  try making your ranch dip with plain yogurt instead of mayo!  It’s YUM – especially with these chips.

Even though the chips look and feel like tortilla chips, they don’t taste like them (although there is a slight roasted corn taste to these), nor are they as salty as a typical commercial corn tortilla chip.  They are salted just enough to bring out the flavors, and I like that.

Yummy!  I can really taste the “falafel” in these.  I can taste the beans and as I chew, I can feel the somewhat mealy texture of the falafel as well.  I can taste tumeric in these as well.  The spice is mild, but manages to deliver the overall falafel experience to the chips.   Don’t get me wrong, these aren’t as good as authentic falafel – but they are a delicious change-up from the ordinary tortilla chip.  The aftertaste is quite enjoyable too – like slightly spiced veggies!

My Final Thoughts:

I really like these.  As I said before, I’ve tried them before receiving them in my tasting box, and I will probably get more the next time I am at Chuck’s Produce.  They are awesome with hummus!

Comments
  1. Jennifer says:

    Are these vegan? I think they MIGHT be…Oooooo!

  2. Claude says:

    Yes, they sure are! Enjoy

Leave a Reply

