Blueberry Acai Gummy Pandas from Bissinger’s

Posted: June 29, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  Bissinger’s Handcrafted Chocolatier on Foodzie

Price:  $20. for four 4-ounce packages

Product Description:

Open up a bag of this award-winning treat and you’ll be blown away by the abundant blueberry aroma. Soft and satisfying, this all-natural gummy is made with hand-selected organic sweeteners and two natural sources of antioxidants: blueberries and acai fruit.

What I Think:

This is yet another product that I first discovered at Chuck’s Produce – but I didn’t try this particular flavor.  I actually purchased the Pomegranate White Tea Gummy Pandas at Chuck’s Produce (which I purchased because they were tea flavored), so I was very happy that I received a different flavor in June’s Tasting Box.

But still, I didn’t have high expectations because while I did enjoy the Pomegranate White Tea Gummy Pandas, they weren’t all that exceptional in my opinion.  But these not only exceeded my expectations – but they blew me away!  Quite possibly the best gummy candy I’ve ever tasted.  Not that I’m an expert at all when it comes to gummy confections, because they are not typically my favorite candy.

Just as the description above suggests, I was astonished by the fragrance that came from the pouch as soon as I opened it.  It smelled like fresh blueberries!

The flavor is very vibrant.  Sweet with just the right level of tart.  The blueberry flavor is especially intense!  The berry flavor is quite authentic – so true to the fruit, in fact, that I found myself expecting a burst of juice after biting into one of these berries … err, um, panda bears, that is.

I guess if I were to change anything about these at all, it would be the texture.  As I said, I’m not a big fan of gummy candy, so I find myself wishing this had more of a soft-gel like texture (like in a fruit gel candy) rather than the tough gelatin-ish, chewy texture of the gummy.  But since these are, in fact, gummy pandas, I guess to complain about the fact that they are gummy would be kind of unrealistic, huh?

My Final Thoughts:

With the exception of my misgivings about gummy candy, I found these to be quite flavorful and delicious.  I am surprised at how true to the fruit these gummy pandas are!

Comments
  1. Jennifer says:

    Do these have Gelatin in them or are they veg*n?

  2. Anne Downen says:

    The ingredient list reveals that they contain gelatin.

Leave a Reply

