Black Truffle & White Cheddar Popcorn from 479° Popcorn

Posted: July 15, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  479° Popcorn

Price:  $35.  for five 4-ounce boxes of a variety of flavored popcorn

What I Think:

I have tried this popcorn before – I found this brand of popcorn at Chuck’s Produce after having tried Charlie’s Truffled Popcorn in February’s Tasting Box.  I enjoyed that popcorn so much that I wanted to try this one to see how it compared.  And while I admit that I preferred Charlie’s Truffled Popcorn over this popcorn, I am still very happy to be able to enjoy this popcorn again.  It’s quite tasty.

The black truffle is more profound in the aroma of the popcorn than it is in the flavor, and I guess if I were to complain about anything, it would be that I would want more truffle flavor.  That is not to say that this popcorn isn’t delightful, it is, but, it would be even better if the truffle flavor were better defined.

The popcorn has a light, crunchy texture.  The white cheddar cheese is the strongest flavor and it offers a sharp, tangy note that is a nice contrast to the savory, earthy tone of the truffle.  I like that this popcorn is not overwhelmingly salty – there is just a hint of salt to enhance the overall taste.  It is a satisfying combination of flavors.

My Final Thoughts:

I like popcorn and I enjoyed this popcorn.  Will I be ordering more?  Probably not, mostly because I find the price a bit prohibitive.  The flavors in the Foodie Sampler are indeed intriguing (especially the Fleur de Sel Caramel!) but I don’t know that they interest me enough to buy the entire sampler package.  However, if I find that flavor at Chuck’s Produce I may pick up a box – and if I do, I’ll be sure to write about it!

Comments

Leave a Reply

