Matcha Green Tea Assortment of Baked Goods from Kyotofu

Posted: July 18, 2011 in Foodzie, I Love Cupcakes, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  Kyotofu on Foodzie

Price:  $25.00

Product Description:

We’ve created this special assortment for all of the green tea lovers out there! Made using one of the highest quality matcha powders in Japan, our assortment includes Matcha Nama Chocolates (2 pieces), Hand-dipped Green Tea Okara Cookies (5 pieces), Matcha Financiers (10 pieces), and Matcha Shortbread Cookies (5 pieces). Packed in our signature Kyotofu-branded brown box.

What I Think:

The first thing that captured my excitement about this package was the packaging itself.  All of these goodies were neatly packed inside a beautiful chocolate brown box, tied up with cream and pink ribbons.

I was a little disappointed when I opened the box, however.  I received no Matcha Nama Chocolates and no Hand-Dipped Green Tea Okara Cookies.  I received substitutions for these (I received extra of the shortbread cookies and the financiers), although I was not informed of the substitutions made.  What follows is my impressions of each of the three different types of confections I received in my assortment box.

Matcha Cupcakes:  The description of this assortment no longer includes the cupcakes, but my box included eight mini “cupcakes.”  These are really tasty and possess a nice Matcha flavor.  This cupcake is a celebration of the sweetness of Matcha – it is lightly vegetal without being overly grassy.  There is a very pleasing taste to the cake.  They are light and fluffy, and they impart a lovely Matcha aftertaste.  Very good – although they are a little on the dry side.

Matcha Shortbread Cookies:  Instead of getting five Hand-Dipped Green Tea Okara Cookies, I received a total of ten of the Matcha Shortbread Cookies.  These turned out to be my favorite of the assortment I received.  At first, I was a bit unsure, they looked a tad over-baked, but by the time I had finished that first cookie, I was reaching for my second.  It’s hard to stop eating these!  They are buttery and rich and seem to melt in my mouth.  Absolutely delicious.

Matcha Financiers:  I absolutely love the texture of these financiers.  They are tender and soft in the middle, with a lightly crisp exterior.  The flavor is Matcha – lightly vegetative and sweet with a mere hint of bitterness.  There is a buttery essence to these as well, and that buttery essence imparts a creamy taste on the palate that enhances the matcha taste.  It’s almost like sipping on Matcha (but my sweet tooth would argue that these are even better than Matcha!)

In addition to the initial disappointment of the substitutions (after tasting these treats, I was no longer disappointed by the substitutions) I was also a little dismayed that there were no ingredient listings on any of the products (nor on the website).   As a foodie, I like to know what goes into the foods I eat.

My Final Thoughts:

Despite a few disappointing concerns, overall, this assortment package was more than enjoyable – everything inside the beautiful package was absolutely delicious.  From the rich, melt-in-my-mouth goodness of the shortbread to the incredibly light, sweet financiers and fluffy cupcakes, these are treats that I’d be happy to enjoy any time!   YUM!

Comments
  1. poppyent says:

    These are very unique and look delicious well done !

Leave a Reply

