Michigan Dried Red Cherries from Benjamin Twiggs

Posted: August 11, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  Benjamin Twiggs on Foodzie

Price:  $5.95 for 8 ounce package

Product Description:

You open a bag of Benjamin Twiggs Michigan Dried Cherries and before you know it – Poof! – it’s empty. You can’t help yourself. That’s because our dried fruit is processed, dried and packaged right here in northern Michigan. Plump and sweet, they’re delicious right out of the bag or a tasty addition to your salad, cereal, or muffins.

What I Think:

Delicious!  I love cherries, and these dried cherries really capture the sweet flavor of cherries while adding a nice, chewy texture.  I like that these are sweet but they also have a tartness to them.  They aren’t too sweet.  These are so nice and plump with a good, fruity flavor.

Wonderful right out of the bag (and quite difficult to stop munching on once you start!) I also love dried cherries on a green salad topped with bleu cheese dressing.

As tasty as these are right out of the bag, I didn’t want to eat them all like that.  Since this month we also received a bag of farro, I wanted to make a hot cereal of farro and cherries!  Here’s how I made it:

I started by melting some butter in my pan, and then adding the dry farro.  I cook it over medium high heat for a couple of minutes, stirring constantly, until I smell a nutty aroma developing.  Then I add hot water to the pan and bring it to a boil.  Once it is boiling, I lower the heat to a simmer and allow the farro to simmer for a half an hour.

At this point, I add a pinch of salt and some cherries to the pot and allow it to continue to simmer for about 20 minutes.  Strain, and add a pat of butter (if desired) or milk.  Eat!

This is an incredibly easy and yummy (albeit time consuming) way to enjoy both the farro and dried cherries.

My Final Thoughts: 

I really like these.  They are plump and of good quality.  Since they aren’t overly processed and don’t contain a lot of extraneous ingredients, I am able to enjoy the true flavor of the cherry.   I want to try Benjamin Twiggs Cherry Salsa!  YUM!

Comments
  1. Equality says:

    Saved as a favorite, I really like your blog!

Leave a Reply

