Bari Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil from Bari Olive Oil Company

Posted: August 14, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  Bari Olive Oil Company on Foodzie

Price:  $11.49 for a 250 ml bottle

Product Description:

Bari Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil is a pungent and very aromatic oil and is appreciated for its green, grassy flavor and piquant spiciness. This oil is the connoisseur’s choice and is often used as a condiment drizzled over foods just before serving.

Recommended for bread dipping, bean dishes, hearty soups, baked potatoes, grilled bread, vegetables, antipasti and boldly-flavored recipes. Perfect for grilling and drizzling.

What I Think:

In my email inbox this morning, I had a notification that my Foodzie Tasting Box for August had been shipped, so, I figured that it was high time that I review the last product from my July box.

To be honest, I wasn’t sure how to approach this review.  I am not what one would consider an olive oil connoisseur.  Not at all.   So I decided to do a bread dipping taste test.  I have a delicious bit of sourdough bread from Chuck’s Produce here, and I’ve cut it into chunks to not only taste this olive oil, but also to compare it to the extra virgin olive oil that I happen to have on hand.

Because I’m not that “in to” olive oil, I don’t really pay attention to which olive oil I usually purchase, I just look for “extra virgin”  (why?  I don’t know, maybe because it’s what Rachel Ray uses), and then I compare prices and purchase the most reasonably priced bottle…whichever that happens to be.

So, on with the tasting.  The Bari’s Olive Oil is quite tasty.  I can taste the notes as described in the above description.  I taste the grassy notes, as well as a hint of spiciness.  I can taste the olive.  It is light, but it also has a rich taste to it.  After eating a chunk of bread without oil (to cleanse the palate), I tried my “on hand” olive oil.  This one has less grassy taste.  What I taste primarily here is olive.  It is a very strong olive taste, and it is much heavier on the palate than the featured Olive Oil.  In comparison, there is very little complexity to my on hand product.

My Final Thoughts:

If you’re looking for an olive oil with a pleasing complexity that would stand on its own as a condiment, you’ll do well with this Bari’s Olive Oil.  Will I buy it again?  Probably not.  While I did enjoy the taste of this olive oil very much and am amazed at the different flavors it presented, I’m afraid that olive oil just isn’t my thing.  I generally only use it as a cooking oil, and use it as a component to salad dressing for my pasta salad.  But I am glad that I had the opportunity to try this, it was a very pleasant experience.

Comments
  1. Anne Downen says:

    Last night, I brushed some of this oil on sourdough bread and grilled it. It turned out fantastic. It was this utilization of the oil that I really gained an appreciation for it. Was it enough to justify the expense? I don’t think so. But, it was still very delicious.

Leave a Reply

