North Fork Sweet Potato Chips from Martin Sidor Farms

Posted: August 19, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  Martin Sidor Farms on Foodzie

Price:  $10.50 for six 2-ounce bags

Product Description:

Rave reviews by The Nibble “ Simple perfection: North Fork’s thick-cut sweet potatoes fried in sunflower oil. Nothing else is needed.” Our North Fork Sweet Potato Chips are all natural, no preservatives or transfat, cholesterol free, just slices of sweet potatoes, kettled cooked in sunflower oil. No seasoning or salt are added. This chip is plain and simple and needs no enhancements.

What I Think:

I’ve tried a few sweet potato chips in the past, and while I enjoyed the ones I’ve tried, they all seemed to lack … something.  Something that would have kept me munching. I don’t know what it was that I wanted or expected from them… but, I wanted something more than what they were. I had almost given up that I would find the perfect sweet potato chips.

And while these are not perfect, these are the best ones I’ve tried thus far.  Unfortunately, there is something off about them.  They taste … almost burnt.  When I first bite into them, they have a nice crunchy texture and a delicious sweet potato taste.  They aren’t greasy or oily (a good thing!)  But there is a somewhat over-cooked taste to them.

But not every one of the chips taste burnt.  Most of them are fine.  But occasionally (I’d estimate about 1/3 of the bags worth), I’ll bite into one that imparts a burnt-like flavor that is especially noticeable in the aftertaste.  It doesn’t overwhelm the palate; it’s more like a hint of burnt taste.  But it just isn’t… what I had hoped for.

Now… that being said, these are still the best sweet potato chips that I’ve tasted to date.  Will I order them again?  No, but, they give me hope.  Hope that one day I’ll find that perfect sweet potato chip… so I guess I just need to keep on trying!

My Final Thoughts:

I finished the package, so they can’t be too bad, eh?  Actually, they aren’t bad. Maybe my batch just happened to be a little overdone.  I don’t know.  They’re tasty, but not quite as good as I hoped.

Comments
  1. karen says:

    I didn’t like these at all. I normally love sweet potato chips, but thought these were dry and bland.

Leave a Reply

