Smokey Merlot Sea Salt from Woody’s Gourmet

Posted: August 23, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  Woody’s Gourmet on Foodzie

Price:  $9.99 for a 3-ounce bottle

Product Description:

The rich color says it all. Instill the deep, rich, big flavors of real Merlot wine with the aromas of dry, smokey wood & you’ll arrive with this blend in hand. Our proprietary method of Wet InfusionTM blends essential oils from quality ingredients with sea salt. Subtly sophisticated & uniquely understated.

What I Think:

Have I mentioned how much I love Woody’s Gourmet Sea Salt blends lately?

I used this Smokey Merlot Sea Salt as a finishing salt on grilled steak and steamed green beans, and I noticed how just a sprinkling of this sea salt blend on my steak and green beans not only improved the flavor of these foods, but it also seemed to brighten the flavor of my iced tea (and no, I didn’t add the salt to my tea!)

The flavors described in the product description above are all present.  There are smoky wood notes as well as a sweet, fruity taste of Merlot wine.  These flavors are blended perfectly so that when used as a seasoning, the seal salt blend does not taste too salty, but, instead has a nice balance of salt, smoke and wine.  The overall result is a salt that tastes salty, a little sweet, with wood and smoke notes.  It is very savory and delicious, and my steak is positively mouth-watering!

My Final Thoughts:

I am finding myself replacing my usual condiments (steak sauce) with these salts.  My steak (and just about anything else!) just tastes better with a little of this salt sprinkled on it rather than being slathered with steak sauce.

Comments
  1. karen says:

    I really liked these salts, too. I couldn’t bring myself to pay out that much for them, though.
    We looked at what they had available, and made our own concoctions, by using a sea salt grinder – filling it with a mixture of good grey sea salt and spices/herbs. Our favourite mix so far has been the chipotle sea salt blend we made by blending the dried peppers with sea salt.
    It’s so simple, it seemed silly to pay so much for them.

    Feel free to give these wonderful innovators on Foodzie your business, though! I know I’m a cheap bastard. lol
    I just have a compulsion to try to replicate store-bought foods myself before paying high prices for them. If I’m unable or unwilling to replicate, I do buy them!

Leave a Reply

