Ginger Squared Shorties Shortbread from Botanical Bakery

Posted: August 25, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  Botanical Bakery on Foodzie

Price:  $5.99 for 3.5 ounce package

Product Description:

Light the Fire Within. Life should be a bit more digestible. The delectable shortbread indulgence helps make it so. In Ginger Squared, enjoy the warm sweet aroma as it is complemented by the bright spicy gentle heat of crystallized ginger.

What I Think:

What I think is that these shorties are insanely addictive!

It takes a couple of these buttery rich, sweet shortbread bites before I really taste the heat from the ginger, but after those few, it becomes very gingery.  Never really HOT but delightfully warm.  The flavor of the ginger helps cut through some of the sweetness of the shortbread, creating a very pleasing sweet-savory experience for the palate.

But the best part?  With each bite, I get a bit of crystallized ginger!  That chewy texture in contrast to the melt-in-my-mouth, tender/flaky texture of the shortbread is in itself addictive.

The Botanical Bakery suggests pairing this with an Oolong tea, and I did just that!  I enjoyed this Strong Fire Oolong from The Tao of Tea.   Another great pairing would be a Yunnan like this Yunnan Gold from TeaVert, as the ginger in these cookies would probably bring out some of the peppery qualities of the Yunnan.  These delightful shorties helped to make my tea time even more special!

My Final Thoughts:

Before I opened this package, I thought that no flavor could top the delicious fennel pollen shortbread, but now, as I sit here, sad that this package is now empty… I realize that as much as I love the fennel pollen shorties, I love these even more!  YUM!

Leave a Reply

