Gourmet Scooping Ketchup from Sir Kensington’s

Posted: September 2, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  Sir Kensington’s on Foodzie

Price:  $8.99 for an 11-ounce jar

Product Description:

Behold my finest creation! This ketchup is made with the ripest red tomatoes, olive oil and green peppers, and is sweetened with agave nectar, brown sugar and honey. Do not settle for anything less than Sir Kensington quality!

What I Think:

I want to start this review by stating that I don’t really care much for ketchup.  When I was single, I didn’t even have ketchup in my house. The only thing I put ketchup on is Breakfast Jacks (yes, from Jack-in-the-Box), and that’s only because I was programmed as a kid to only eat Breakfast Jacks that have been doused in ketchup, and when I bite into one without ketchup it just tastes wrong. In fact, ketchup is one of my pet peeves… err, that is, the act of slathering one’s meal with ketchup is one of my main pet peeves.  (You know how when guests come over for dinner, and someone covers the roast that I’ve spent hours preparing with ketchup?  I hate HATE hate that.)

However, if the ketchup used to defile my roast was THIS ketchup, I might be willing to forgive.  Yes.  This ketchup is that good.  This is extraordinarily good.  It is “wipe the plate clean with my fingers so that I can lick the ketchup off of them” good.

The first thing I notice about this ketchup is the aroma.  I can smell the fresh tomatoes and green peppers.  Then I notice the color and the texture.  Instead of the bright “cherry” red color of a typical ketchup, it has a deep, rich red that verges on the edge of a burgundy color.  The texture is not quite as smooth as a typical ketchup, this is chunkier.  Not like “salsa” chunky, but, this isn’t a ketchup you could squirt out of a squeeze bottle, either.

But the most important thing is how it tastes.  And this tastes really good.  It is sweet, but I don’t find it too sweet, especially when compared to the ketchup you’d find on the grocery store shelf.

This ketchup reminds me of vine-ripened, homegrown tomatoes.  It has that deliciously fresh tomato taste.  The peppers add a really amazing dimension of flavor.  Not spicy; but enough zesty flavor to make this ketchup stand out among the rest. It tastes really fresh and delicious – so good that it will elevate an ordinary pile of fries to extraordinary!

My Final Thoughts:

They call this “Scooping Ketchup” and that’s because you will want to scoop this out with a spoon and eat it.  I even used my fingers to clean the inside of the jar!  Yes, it’s that good.

Leave a Reply

