Spiced Gourmet Scooping Ketchup from Sir Kensington’s

Posted: September 28, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where to Buy:  Sir Kensington’s on Foodzie

Price:  $8.99 for an 11-ounce jar

Product Description:

Reminiscent of my time spent in Mesopotamia, this spiced variant of ketchup contains jalapeno, cilantro and lime. The spice is noticeable but not overbearing, delighting the palates of both the spicy food lover and those with more delicate taste buds.

What I Think:

After falling completely in love with the original Sir Kensington’s Gourmet Scooping Ketchup, I knew I had to try the Spiced variety.

This is very similar to the original “non-spiced” variety.   This ketchup has the same, deep red color of the original variety, and has the same fresh tomato-y taste.   The most significant difference is – surprise, surprise! – the spice level.  Now, this is not what I would classify as “spicy.”  It is pleasantly warm.  A little spicier than the average ketchup but not quite as spicy as a mild salsa.

The presence of the jalapeño pepper in this ketchup makes the flavor of the bell pepper less apparent.  I don’t taste much from the cilantro, but what I do taste is the lime.  It accents the overall flavor, offsetting the sweetness of the ketchup, making this taste not quite as sweet as the original while at the same time highlighting the spice.

But as I said before, this is not actually a hot/spicy tasting ketchup.  It is mild on the heat scale, but the heat does develop as I continue to eat it.  That being said, I don’t think those who generally shy away from spicy foods would have anything to fear with this ketchup.

My Final Thoughts:

I really like this.  Do I like it better than the original variety?  No, I don’t think so.  But it is still is delicious – delicious enough to eat right out of a jar with a spoon!  And it is different enough from the original that it would be perfectly acceptable to have both in your pantry:  one for every day use, and one when you want to spice things up a bit.

Leave a Reply

