Agave Grill

Posted: November 18, 2011 in Restaurant Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

In keeping with what seems to be a trend here on Hungry In Portland, I’m about to write a review on a restaurant that seems to have closed since I visited.  The Agave Grill:  another LivingSocial discovery.  The Agave Grill is located in Bridgeport Village (or was?  I can’t seem to find it in the Bridgeport Village directory, which is what lead me to think that maybe this restaurant has now closed, an inability to complete a telephone call to the establishment seemed to cement those suspicions) 

Order:  I ordered the chilaquiles, while my husband ordered a chicken enchilada.  Bowls of chips and salsa were brought to the table with our drinks.

What I Think:

Let’s start with what every Mexican restaurant seems to start with, the chips and salsa.  What I like best about most other Mexican restaurant’s chips and salsa offerings is that its a free alternative to the appetizer.  But I have to say that the chips and salsa at Agave Grill was quite spectacular.  The chips were seasoned with what tasted like powdered chili spice, giving it a subtle kick.  The salsa was very fresh – the vegetables tasted as though they were picked from the garden that very morning.  The flavor was spicy (of course) but had just the right amount of sweetness too.  A very nice contrast.

Enchilada

My husband shared a bite of his enchilada with me, and the thing that stood out for me was that the chicken was incredibly tender.  It was a tasty enchilada, although I can’t actually say it was the best that I’ve ever had (although, I am not sure which enchilada was the best I’ve ever had), it tasted pretty much like an ordinary enchilada.  Nothing extraordinary.

I really enjoyed my Chilaquiles though.  If you’ve never tried chilaquiles before, think comfort food.  It reminds me of a casserole (or perhaps a Mexican stir-fry), of sorts.  There were options to order the chilaquiles with meat (chicken, beef or pork, if I remember correctly), but I chose to go with the vegetarian chilaquiles.

Chilaquiles

The word that came to mind (and that I wrote in my journal) to describe the chilaquiles is “harvest.”  It has a very autumnal appeal to it, with lots of roasted squash and other vegetables.  The tortilla strips were drenched in a delicious pumpkin seed sauce and I think it was the sauce that really drove that dish home for me.  The sauce was incredibly flavorful and really tied the whole “harvest” idea together.

On the side, there were rice and beans.  In keeping with my vegetarian chilaquiles, I chose for the vegetarian beans, which were very tasty.  The rice was kind of bland and wasn’t my favorite side dish I ever tasted.

My Final Thoughts:

While I’m sad that another business has closed, I can’t honestly say that I’m going to miss this restaurant.  For the most part, the food was quite delicious, but, given it’s location and my husband’s reaction to selecting a restaurant in Tigard … I don’t think I would have returned to Agave Grill anyway.

Agave Grill on Urbanspoon

Comments
  1. I’ve voiced a few radio commercials for Agave Grill 🙂

Leave a Reply

