Fruit & Nut Crostini from Anjou Bakery

Posted: November 26, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

To learn more about these Crostini “crackers,” visit Anjou Bakery’s website.

What I Think:

I was thrilled to find these amongst the many goodies in this month’s tasting box from Foodzie.  I hadn’t yet tried this particular dried bread cracker, but, I had tried something similar:  Raincoast Crisps, and I was quite a fan of those crunchy treats.  I was quite sure I’d end up enjoying these just as much as I enjoy the Raincoast Crisps (my favorite flavor is the Cranberry Hazelnut).

And I enjoyed these almost as much as I do the Raincoast Crisps.  These are a little different in taste:  I can taste the rustic bread, I can taste (and feel the texture of) the different grains in the bread itself.  I really like that. I can really taste the nutty flavor of the whole wheat in the bread.

The raisins add a nice sweetness to the crisp, as well as a pleasant chewy texture to contrast with the very crunchy texture of the bread.  And of course, let’s not forget about the nuts.  The ingredients list both almonds and pecans, but what I taste most are the almonds.  I can taste hints of the pecans, it isn’t a very distinct flavor at all.

I enjoyed these on their own, mostly because I didn’t have a good cheese to enjoy with them, and I really wanted to try them NOW and not wait until I had some cheese to go with it.  But I am sure some cheese would make a delicious accompaniment to this crostini.

My tea recommendation?  I selected a pleasant, mild green tea to enjoy with these crackers:  Hysson from Gorreana Tea.  The sweetness brought out some of the nutty flavors in the crisps.  A really delicious tea-time combination.

My Final Thoughts:

While I prefer the Raincoast Crisps, I enjoyed these quite a lot too.  They are very crispy and also quite hearty.  Would I buy them again?  Perhaps, if I saw them in the store, but I don’t think I’d go out of my way to order them.  I am really glad that they were included in the tasting box, though!

 

Leave a Reply

