Pistachio and Almond Nougat from Vadeboncoeur Nougat

Posted: November 30, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

This Nougat is available on Petit Amuse.

Product Description:

Nougat is produced by whipping egg whites and honey in copper pans over high heat. While still pliable and hot, nuts are folded in and the mixture is spread out in wooden molds lined with wafer paper, where it cools until it can be cut and wrapped.

If your vision of nougat is tough, tooth-breaking bricks, you’re in for a pleasant surprise. Murat’s nougat is incredibly supple. Aromatic honey lends a gentle sweetness, while fresh, flavorful pistachios and almonds offer textural contrast.

What I Think:

Oh My Goodness, this is GOOD!

There was a time (like before I tasted this nougat bar) that I would have said I’m not a big fan of nougat.  I thought it to be hard and sickeningly sweet.

But, that’s all changed now that I’ve tried this nougat.  This is amazingly good. The nougat is soft and chewy with a lightness to it that reminds me more of marshmallow than what I thought of when I thought “nougat.”  It’s almost… fluffy.

Yes, it is sweet, but this isn’t cloying the way the nougat I’ve had in the past is.  I’m sure that if I were to eat more than 1 bar of this at one sitting, it would get too sweet, but, as it is, the bar is quite satisfying:  sweet but not too much and loaded with pistachios and almonds.  The nuts give it a nice crunchy texture and mellows out the sweetness a bit.

The only problem I’ve found with this?  It disappeared too quickly, and unfortunately, I find them to be a bit pricy.  $5.94 per bar on Foodzie?  Yikes!  I don’t think I will be re-ordering these any time soon.

My Final Thoughts:

This is AWESOME and I want more.  I wish they weren’t so expensive.  My tea recommendation?  Well, I chose something malty:  this Assam Kama from Simpson & Vail.  It has just the right touch of savory quality to offer contrast to the sweetness of the nougat, making this a very enjoyable, palate-pleasing snack.

Leave a Reply

