Bacon Raleigh Bar from Xocolatl de David

Posted: December 17, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Learn more about all the wonderful treats from Xocolatl de David on their website.

Price:  $3.00 per bar

Product Description:

Almost immediately after making the first Raleigh Bar with Salted Caramel, I made one with my Bacon Caramel.  It was delicious, and nice counterpart to the original. It is the most popular of the three types of Raleigh Bars, and for good reason too. The smokey, bacon-y goodness complements the nougat, pecans and the chocolate very well.

Pecan Chocolate Nougat, Bacon Caramel, 72% Chocolate from Ecuador.

What I Think:

Oh YUM!

Yes, these bars are small… but, they pack a lot of flavor into one little bar.

I’ve tried several different chocolate covered bacon type confections, but, this one has the most bacon flavor of any that I’ve tried to date.  And what I like best, aside from the fact that I can really taste the bacon, is that I can also taste each of the other flavors that are enrobed in this thin coat of dark chocolate (thin, yes, but, I like that I can still feel it snap as I take a bite.  It is fresh and rich and truly delicious).

Once my palate recognizes the bittersweet flavor of the dark Ecuadorian chocolate, it almost immediately tastes the burnt-sugar sweetness from the caramel, and then the salty, smoky flavor of the bacon comes through.  The pecans add a really delightful flavor and texture to this candy.  Just a little crunch, and a nice nutty flavor that adds another dimension to this very rich, decadent treat.

Nougat, as I’ve said before, isn’t my favorite flavor inside a candy, but, here, it doesn’t come across as too sweet.  The savory qualities from the bacon offer enough contrast to help keep this definitely rich and sweet confection from being too cloying.

And, even though this bar is (was!) small, it is just the right size.  Any larger, and I think it would have been too much … too sweet, too rich, too cloying … or at the very least, it would have left me feeling guilty for taking in too much decadence.  As for a tea pairing, I wanted something strong and sturdy to go along with the strong flavors presented in this bar, but also, something that didn’t have flavors other than the tea (in other words, not a flavored tea), that might compete with this candy, as it does have quite a bit to it as it is.  I chose this Assam Kama from Simpson & Vail, which has a rich, malty flavor that really complimented the flavors of this bar very well.  Any high quality, rich Assam would do, of course, but if you can get your hands on some of this Assam Kama, you’ll be doing yourself a big favor!

My Final Thoughts:

Completely, and totally, YUM.  With the inclusion of these two little candy bars in my Bacon and Bourbon Box from Foodzie, it definitely made the entire box worthwhile!  If you love the combination of bacon and chocolate – you MUST try this candy bar!

Leave a Reply

