Ginger Sesame Caramel Popcorn from 479° Popcorn

Posted: December 19, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Learn more about 479° Popcorn here.

Product Description:

Ginger comes from the edible bulb of a perennial plant, and is frequently found in Asian cuisine. We infuse golden, buttery caramel with organic ginger to create a pleasantly zesty coating for crisp, fluffy popcorn. Finished with a generous sprinkle of toasted sesame seeds, this unique snack displays tingly heat, gentle sweetness and a nutty finish. San Francisco’s Chinatown was our inspiration for this exuberant combination of flavors, and we think it tastes even better with a Bruce Lee movie playing on the flat screen.

What I Think:

This has to be the tastiest caramel popcorn I’ve ever tasted.  I love the contrast between the sweet caramel and the peppery zing of the ginger.  The hint of nutty flavor from the sesame seeds is just barely apparent, but it’s enough to keep the taste buds excited for more.

The popcorn is light and fluffy, and now that I am near the bottom of the pouch that was included with my Stocking Stuffers tasting box from Foodzie, I can also say that I found NO un-popped kernels and I’m not really experiencing much of a hull issue either.

The caramel is done right.  Each kernel of popcorn is covered with no bare spots.  It has a nice sweetness, it doesn’t taste burnt, and it has a nice crispness to it, without coming across as too sticky, buttery or messy on the fingers or the teeth.  Adding to the crunchy texture are the black sesame seeds, which add a light, toasty nut taste.  Every kernel of popcorn seems to have at least one seed on them, so there is a good amount of sesame seeds here, but again, it’s just the right amount … not too much, or too little.  Then there is the ginger.  I love the kick that the ginger adds to this popcorn, and gives it just the right balance between sweet and spicy.

As for a tea pairing … this popcorn has enough flavor going on for it that I’d recommend just a glass of iced tea for palate refreshment!  My favorite iced tea:  Rainbow Sherbet from 52Teas.  Here, the flavors are anything but “simple” but it sure is refreshing with a pouch of this popcorn!

My Final Thoughts:

I loved this.  My only regret that there was just one pouch of it in my box, and now that pouch is empty.  I know that my local market carries this brand, although I don’t know if they happen to carry this particular flavor.  I hope so and I will check for it the next time I’m shopping.  I must have more!

Leave a Reply

