Bourbon Smoked Paprika from Bourbon Barrel Foods

Posted: December 26, 2011 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Learn more about Bourbon Barrel Foods here.

Product Description:

Many paprikas are smoked, but none of them are bourbon smoked.  Try this combination of sweet, piquant paprika and the mellow, oaky flavors of fine Kentucky bourbon.

What I Think:

To be honest, this was the item I was least excited about in the Bacon and Bourbon Tasting Box.  I mean, paprika?  Really?  We’re talking my least favorite spice.

But… let me explain WHY it is my least favorite spice.  You see, growing up, the main cook in the household wasn’t exactly a “gourmet chef” by any stretch of the imagination.  Sure, most of the food was edible, but, flavorful?  That’s another thing all together.  Bland would be the way I would describe most of what I ate in my adolescent and teen years.

We had a container of paprika in the spice cabinet.  It had been there since I was eight (probably longer) and I don’t think it had ever been replaced during the time I lived in that house.  The only food that I can remember paprika ever being used for was to sprinkle over deviled eggs, and that was for color, not for flavor (or at least, by the taste of them, I can assume it wasn’t for flavor, because I didn’t taste any difference between those deviled eggs that were dusted with paprika and those that escaped the dusting).

So, in my mind, paprika is that spice that is used for color and not flavor.  In fact whenever preparing a recipe that called for paprika, I would either omit it, or add something else from my spice cabinet.  I never considered paprika a spice worth having in my cabinet … Until now!

But with this spice being in my tasting box, it exposed me to the flavor of paprika!  When I first opened the tin, I was blown away at the smoky scent.  Sweet, smoked, and just a hint of spice.  It smells really good.  A little taste reveals a profile that is a little bit peppery, a little sweet, and with a lovely dimension of smoke.  It is a powerful flavor!

I’ve sprinkled this on fried eggs, and it’s spectacular. For Christmas, I made scalloped potatoes, and used 2 teaspoons of this paprika in the sauce and it elevated the dish from ordinary to extraordinary.  Move over, nutmeg and oregano, you’ll need to make some room for the Bourbon Smoked Paprika!

My Final Thoughts:

This spice is very flavorful stuff!  My deviled eggs will never be the same!  If you suffer from bland food syndrome like I did when I was a kid … get the cook in your house a tin of this!

Comments
  1. Wow, I love hearing stories like these. I really do think once you try the best version of something it can transform what you thought of it. Love the crew at Bourbon Barrel and this paprika (it’s always by my stove). PS – Did you redesign the blog? For some reason it caught my attention, looks great!

Leave a Reply

