Quite Cheezy Kale Krunch from Alive & Radiant Foods

Posted: February 3, 2012 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Product Description:

Who says you can’t pack healthy and delicious into the same product? Alive and Radiant takes organic kale, roasts it until dry and crispy, and coats it with a “cheese” made from cashews, nutritional yeast and Himalayan crystal salt. We reach for these when we need to satisfy our salty chip jones without breaking the calorie bank.

Learn more about Alive & Radiant Foods on their website.

Tea Suggestion:

Given the healthy nature of this snack, I’d recommend a white tea like this White Peony from Teavivre.  It has a delicate quality to it that would not interfere with the wonderful flavors going on in the Kale Krunch.

What I Think:

OK, I’ll say it, this does not look appetizing.  My lack of photography skills aside, this does not look like something that if placed in front of me, I’d say “YUM!”  And to be honest, this was the item in the “Jump Start Your New Year” box that I was least excited about.

But, WOW!  What a surprisingly delicious snack this is!  It is pleasantly crunchy without being hard.  The leaves provide a delicate crisp texture, and it doesn’t feel fibrous to the tooth (which is what I expected, because the veins of kale can sometimes be really fibrous and tough to chew).  Initially, the texture is incredibly light, like biting into the thinnest potato chip.

And yes, it tastes cheesy – like cheddar cheese – without the cheese!   I’m not exactly sure how they managed to make these taste like they’ve been generously coated with cheddar cheese without adding a single shred of cheese to the mixture.

It tastes a little nutty, a little earthy and VERY cheesy.  I can taste the red bell pepper in there too and it adds a sweet, vibrant flavor to it, a little something that makes the taste buds perk up and say YUM!

This doesn’t really taste like kale.  It tastes like a cheese snack you might find in the snack aisle!  It doesn’t taste “healthy” – that is to say, it tastes like something that is loaded with fat and calories.  But there are just 100 calories per serving.

My Final Thoughts:

This is really a delicious snack food, one that I’d be very happy to enjoy again and again.  It’s the kind of snack that would inspire one to go healthy because it tastes so good!  A perfect snack!

Comments
  1. Jennifer says:

    I LOVE Cheesy Kale Chips! I make them in my dehydrator! Vegan and Raw Vegan, even 🙂

Leave a Reply

