For the month of February, Foodzie focused on Valentine’s-y type themes from which to choose for the subscribers of the monthly tasting box.  There was the “Date Night” box which included ingredients to help make a memorable dinner at home for that someone special.  There was also the “Movie Night” box which included gourmet concession stand type goodies such as heirloom popcorn and chocolate covered raisins.  I was leaning towards choosing the Movie Night box because it included one ingredient that really intrigued me:  Chai Cola from Taylor’s Tonics.

However, the other items in the Movie Night box, while delicious in their own right, simply did not excite me as much as the idea of the Valentine’s Box which is filled with chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate … plus some hand pulled hard candies.  Did I mention the chocolate?

YES, I said chocolate!  And when Foodzie goes for the chocolate, they REALLY go for it!

Tucked inside my box this month is one of the most tempting array of chocolates I’ve yet to lay my eyes on.  (For a more tempting array, I suggest visiting The Meadow and feasting your eyes upon their wall of chocolate.) This box includes Dark Chocolate Toffee from Valerie Confections, Coconut Palm Sugar Caramels from Kika’s Treats, Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownie from Blissful Brownies, Dark Chocolate Salted Almond Bar from Theo Chocolate, Dark Chocolate Covered Pistachios from Fiddyment Farms, and finally a bag of Valentine’s Candy from Papabubble.

This is truly a box created for … well, me!  The only thing that could have made it more perfect for me is perhaps some chocolate flavored tea, but then, as you might imagine, I do have some chocolate flavored tea in my tea cupboard that I will be brewing to enjoy with the sweet delights from this box.

Also tucked inside the box was the theme card.  Here is what the theme card has to say about the inspiration behind the Valentine’s Box:

My dad was my first Valentine long before Rob came along.  He would come home with a red heart-shaped box of chocolates and a big red balloon with a roll of SweeTarts weighted to the bottom for each of his four girls.  (I think those candies were always his subtle way of saying having daughters is mostly sweet with just a hint of sour.)  This box is our way of creating that same delight on Valentine’s Day, with a slightly more grown-up taste.  We’re thinking outside the heart-shaped box, with a full artisan chocolate bar, hand-pulled hard candies, palm sugar caramels, pistachios enrobed in chocolate, a fudgy peanut butter brownie, and dark chocolate-covered toffee.  Perhaps you’ll share them with a spouse, a significant other, or a few of your besties, but if you choose to keep hem all to yourself, we won’t love you any less for it.  ~Emily & Rob

Hmm… sharing chocolate is not something that comes easily for me.  So I’ll keep you posted on that.

Leave a Reply

