Cinnamon Crunch Somersaults from Somersault Snack Co.

Posted: February 13, 2012 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Product Description:

Cinnamon Crunch bakes warm cinnamon into our whole wheat dough to create a delightful yet healthy treat. A little sprinkle of sweetness makes this perfect crunchy snack a coffee pairing delight! With just 7g of sugar (that’s 42% less than a granola bar!), this treat is a good-for-you twist on Grandma’s home baked cinnamon rolls.

Learn more about Somsersault Snack Co. on their website.

Tea Suggestion:

With this snack I would recommend something bold like this Mountain Kenya Tea from Mark T. Wendell.  The strong, malty notes would help elevate this snack into a light breakfast food, if you wanted more of a snack than a full meal for breakfast!

What I Think:

These are very tasty.  Much more like a crunchy granola bar than the Salty Pepper Somersaults, these would be very good when one is craving something a little sweet.

I love the basic “nugget” of these Somersaults which is comprised primarily of sunflower seeds.  Snack wise, I find the crunch to be a very satisfying crunch and it’s not only delicious and good for you, but, it also manages to satiate those little hints of hunger that hit me in between meals.

The cinnamon is not an overwhelming flavor in this, it is more like a light sprinkling of cinnamon and maybe just a hint of sugar.  It tastes sweet and mildly warm without being too sweet or spicy.  It is something that I think kids as well as adults could enjoy as a snack.

My Final Thoughts:

I really enjoyed both the cinnamon Somersaults as well as the salt and pepper Somersaults, and I could see me wanting to keep both on hand for when I want a snack.  The salt and pepper ones would be perfect when I want something a little spicy and salty, while the cinnamon ones make a great sweet snack that evoke thoughts of a warm cinnamon bun (YUM!)

Comments
  1. nwfoodie says:

    Just so you know Whole Foods does carry them – I didn’t see the Cinnamon Crunch but they do have the salt and pepper and a dutch chocolate one

    • Anne Downen says:

      Awesome! Thank you so much! I was going to bring the pouch in to Whole Foods to ask them to start carrying them, but, since they do, I will definitely have to pick some up. I LOVE these!

  2. nwfoodie says:

    I do too! You need to try the santa fe salsa I think it is my favorite now!

Leave a Reply

