Dude Ranch Flavored Multigrain Snack Chips from Late July Organic

Posted: March 26, 2012 in Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Product Description:

Each summer, when our herb garden begins to blossom, our boys can’t wait for the first batch of my homemade (Dude) Ranch dressing.  So, it seemed only right to model the seasoning for this chip after the one I make at home.  We added the seasoning to the multigrain chip and the combination was an instant hit!  We were all excited to have developed an organic chip that’s 100% whole grain, has 280mgs of Omega 3s, is gluten-free, peanut/tree nut free and most importantly mouth-wateringly delicious!

Learn more about Late July Organics here.  These are sold at Whole Foods Market.

Tea Suggestion:

When it comes to snack chips, I like a glass of iced tea.  One of my favorite iced teas is this Black & Blue tea from 52Teas (I have one pouch of this available for sale here) and it tastes great with these chips!

What I Think:

These are really tasty.  More often than not, when I encounter a “healthier” snack chip option, I am really excited about them, but I get bored with them pretty quickly.  After a couple of times of snacking on a few chips, the novelty wears out on them, and they don’t really taste all that great.

These chips from Late July Organic are an exception!  They have all the wonderful flavor of a ranch flavored tortilla chip (you know which one I’m talking about) but, they taste even better!  That’s because unlike those tortilla chips made of corn, these are made with whole grain corn PLUS brown rice, chia seeds, flax, millet, quinoa, amaranth and sunflower seeds!  And these whole grains and seeds impart an amazing texture and delicious flavor.  And the flavor is so lively that my palate couldn’t possibly get bored with them!

They pack a good crunch.  Salty, yes, but not over-salted (just know that the final bits at the bottom of the bag are very salty, so, if you’re one who doesn’t care for overly salty things, don’t eat the crumbs!)  The ranch flavor is zesty with a subtle creaminess to it.  I taste the tangy sour cream like flavor, along with notes of onion, garlic and tomato.

My Final Thoughts:

I try to avoid chips when I can, usually choosing rice cakes over chips for when I’m craving something crunchy.  But, lets face it, those air-popped bits of rice simply do not satisfy the hunger-grumblies the way a hearty tortilla chip can.  They may not be health food healthy, but, I think they are probably a better choice over the big-brand tortilla chips, if for no other reason than the whole grain content of these chips.  PS:  They’re gluten-free, too!

 

Comments
  1. You make it sound like the best chips ever… on my next trip to the States, I’ll have to try them

Leave a Reply

