My Foodzie box arrived on the afternoon of the 19th, but I decided to save this post for today – Earth Day! – since I selected the Earth Day themed box.

The three boxes we had to choose from this month were “Outdoor Entertaining” as well as this Earth Day box, and held over for another month was the “Brooklyn Box,” although by the time I had received my email and got to the website to choose my box, the Brooklyn Box had sold out.  I was a little disappointed by that, because I found it difficult to choose between the Brooklyn Box and the Ski Lodge Box last month, and while I am completely happy that I chose the Ski Lodge Box, I would have liked to have the option to choose the Brooklyn Box.

But rather than lament about not being able to choose the Brooklyn Box, I am going to spend this time effusing over the Earth Day Box!  My Box included two sesame seed bars from Bumble Bar, popcorn from Quinn Popcorn, Styrian Pumpkin Seeds from CB’s Nuts, dried plums from Blossom Bluff Orchards, and a can of Classic Gold Sparkling Yerba Maté from Guayaki … in other words:  TEA!  Yay!

So as you can imagine, I wasn’t too disappointed that I couldn’t choose the Brooklyn Box because I did get some really awesome selections from the Earth Day box.  Also included in the Earth Day box was a special bonus:  a reusable mesh produce bag from Flip & Tumble – an environmentally friendly option to those plastic bags from the store.

The theme card in the box explained the inspiration behind The Earth Day Box:

We obviously care a lot about good food, but when the foodmakers commit to earth-friendly practices, we can really taste the sweetness of saving our planet.  This month we’re featuring some of our favorite sweet and savory snacks that are grown sustainably or make a commitment to green processing and packaging.  You’ll sip on a sparkling yerba mate with organic ingredients made in a carbon-neutral processing facility, earth-conscious organic and non-GMO popcorn in compostable packaging and sun-dried plums produced with only the energy provided by Mother Nature herself.

I look forward to trying these goodies!  Be sure to watch this blog for reviews of each of these products!

Leave a Reply

