Sun-Dried Mariposa Plums from Blossom Bluff

Posted: April 28, 2012 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Product Description (from Foodzie):

This fourth generation of family farmers harvests their stone fruit when it’s tender and ripe. Hand-slicing and traditional sun-drying preserves the juiciness, yielding deliciously sweet, tender fruit, requiring zero energy beyond mother nature to process.

Learn more about Blossom Bluff on their website.

Tea Suggestion:

Because the flavors of these dried fruits are so intense and sweet, I wanted something on the lighter side, so I selected a white tea:  Silver Needle from Mandala Tea.  The tea is crisp and refreshing and delicate, allowing the full flavor of the fruit to be experienced.

What I Think:

I don’t usually purchase dried plums.  While I do prefer fresh plums to dry (although when I was a child, one of my favorite “treats” were chili saladitos, but that’s another story!), I found these to be very delicious.

The texture of plums is quite nice.  The first thing I noticed is that they don’t feel sticky the way many commercial dried plums or prunes do.  They are tender and chewy and oh – so – sweet!   But they don’t taste like they’ve been sweetened, the sweetness is the natural sweetness that comes from the fruit itself, and I like that.

I also like that they are organic and un-sulfured, they’re the kind of snack you can feel good about eating because they’re delicious and satisfying (and just sweet enough to curb the sweet-tooth craving too!), and they’re healthy for you and the planet too!

My Final Thoughts:

Very tasty, and different from the dried plums that are readily available.  These are naturally sweet and wholesome, without additives.  Just the fruit, and I like that.

Leave a Reply

