Organic Sparkling Classic Gold Yerba Maté from Guayakí

Posted: May 5, 2012 in Foodzie, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Product Description:

Bubbling with bright tamarind and lime delights, the Sparkling Classic Gold is the latest small miracle to flow from the yerba mate tree.

Learn more about Guayakí on their website.

What I Think:

A can of this crisp, bubbly beverage was included in my Earth Day Foodzie Tasting Box.  And to tell the truth, even though Yerba Maté is something that the tea community (at least some of us) embrace as a “tea-like” beverage, I wasn’t sure how I was going to like this.  I have had Yerba Maté on many occasions, but, I don’t recall having it served chilled.

But, I had some faith (or at least some hope?) that the people at Foodzie would not disappoint me, so I popped open the can and gave it a try.  And you know what?  This is really quite good!

The flavor of the Yerba Maté is there, but it shares the spotlight with the flavors of lime, ginger and tamarind, and yes, with the sweetener.  This is a sweet glass of iced “tea.”  But I don’t find it too sweet when I take into account that it is a canned, sparkling tea.  It isn’t as sweet as some of bottled ready-to-drink teas out there, and it certainly isn’t as sweet as a can of soda.  The tartness of the lime and tamarind as well as the slightly spicy tone of the ginger balance the sweetness out a little, making this beverage a pleasing contrast of sweet, tart, spice and earthy vegetal notes.

What’s more, Yerba Maté is a very energizing herb, and I can feel that effect doing it’s magic!  I had started the day with a cup of tea but it was on the lighter side, and I really needed some caffeine.  This will get you going!

My Final Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this.  I don’t know that I’ll keep it in stock in my refrigerator, however, if I happen to be out and about and am in need of liquid refreshment, I will look for this product and if it’s available, I’d choose this over a soda or even the average bottled ready-to-drink iced tea.

Comments
  1. Awilda Kempa says:

    I always take yerba mate tea for the overall health of my body, Yerba mate tastes good too. ,”,.

    Up to date piece of content on our personal internet site
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/grapefruit-seed-extract-uses/

Leave a Reply

