Truffle Salt Gourmet Popcorn from Bernod’s PopCity

Posted: August 6, 2012 in Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Bernod’s PopCity:

Just the most trend-setting new products to explode onto the scene of the ever-popular world of flavored popcorn. It’s no wonder Americans eat 17 billion quarts of the stuff each year! We handcraft fresh recipes for our line of flavored popcorns, making sure that you get only the highest-quality product.

Learn more about Bernod’s Group on their website.

Tea Suggestion:

When it comes to popcorn, I generally prefer it with iced tea, because it tends to refresh the palate quickly (it’s easier to guzzle iced tea than it is hot tea!) and cleanly.  This is especially true for savory popcorn like this Truffle Salt Gourmet Popcorn.  I chose this Organic Spring Twist from Butiki Teas and poured it over ice, and the light, crisp, fruity taste with vegetative undertones seemed to meld in perfect harmony with the savory, salty, earthy flavors of this Truffle Salt popcorn.  YUM!

What I Think:

Recently, I was contacted by the nice people at Bernod’s Group, and as a thank you for mentioning them in one of my posts, as well as reviewing their yummy organic Cherry Vanilla Cotton Candy, they sent me a package of not one, not two, but FOUR of their yummy gourmet popcorn treats!  I’ve already reviewed the two that are readily available from their website:  the caramel corn and the kettle corn.   (and just as a side note, my husband touts the caramel corn as the BEST caramel corn he’s ever tasted!)

But this Truffle Salt Gourmet Popcorn is not on their website, so I contacted Bernod’s to find out where one might be able to obtain this yummy popcorn, and they informed me that their gourmet popcorn selections are also available at HomeGoods.   Awesome!  I love that store anyway, so this is just another excuse to shop!

Anyway, this stuff is awesome!  The popcorn is fluffy and lightly seasoned with truffle salt.  The truffle is what really makes the difference here between ordinary popcorn and something extraordinary – because it gives it a delightful, savory taste that is so irresistible!  There is a hint of buttery goodness too – it’s not a heavy buttery essence, but just a hint that accents the sweet, toasty, popped corn taste.

My Final Thoughts:

Slightly earthy, and tasting truly gourmet, I found myself not wanting to stop!  Just so good!  Yes, I absolutely need to make a stop into HomeGoods the next time we’re in the area (if you’re in the Portland/Vancouver, WA area, the HomeGoods where I shop is located in the Cascade Station near the airport.)  I want more of this Truffle Salt Popcorn, and I think that my husband wants more of that caramel corn too!

Leave a Reply

