NuNatural Products: Pure Liquid Peppermint NuStevia

Posted: August 24, 2012 in Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Product Description:

Peppermint NuStevia Alcohol Free Liquid is finally here. Once you have add this to your tea or coffee, yogurt, or sparkling water (makes an awesome sugar free soda), you will not know how you lived without it.

Learn more about this product here.

Learn more about NuNatural on their website.

What I Think:

Not too long ago, I received a wonderful surprise via UPS – a box of NuNatural Stevia products!  I did not expect it, so big thanks goes out to my SororiTea Sister TeaEqualsBliss aka Jennifer (here’s a link to her personal blog) who arranged for NuNatural to send it to me to try.

Now, I have never been one to mince words when it comes to stevia.  Quite frankly, I don’t care for it.  I have found one or two products that include stevia as an ingredient that I’ve enjoyed, but more often than not, I can discern the flavor of the stevia, and when I can … I’d rather I didn’t.  That is to say, that I’d rather the stevia was not in that product when I can taste the stevia, and I usually CAN taste the stevia.

That’s because stevia usually has a very odd sort of flavor that is somewhat chemical/somewhat herb-y and even a little bitter in a bad way.  It has a funky aftertaste that I just don’t like.  It’s not a pleasant flavor.  And I want to enjoy my food and drink, so I’d rather the stevia was not part of my food or drink.

But now, I’m tasting these NuNatural stevia products for the first time, and I must say that I’m incredibly impressed.  The first product I tried was the Pure Liquid Peppermint NuStevia.  This Pure Liquid offers stevia in a whole new way – at least, it’s new to me.  I’ve had stevia as a powder and also as a leaf.  It’s better as a leaf than the powder, but neither really interested me enough to say I really enjoyed it.  But … I’m REALLY ENJOYING this Pure Liquid Peppermint NuStevia!  And I’m shocked and amazed to be saying that.

For the purposes of this review, I brewed some of this Bailin Gongfu Black Tea from Teavivre.  I selected this tea because I happened to have it handy this morning, so it became my morning cup of tea.  So this afternoon, I resteeped the leaves, and decided to add seven drops of this Pure Liquid NuStevia into my mug of tea … I figured, hey, since it was a resteep anyway, if it didn’t work out, I’ve not sacrificed too much.  I already had a rich, delicious cup of this tea this morning, and this is just a resteep.  (And just for the record, this tea resteeps beautifully!  It is nearly as vibrant and flavorful as the first.)

What I taste, primarily, is the peppermint.  It is crisp and cool and refreshing to the palate.  And then I notice the sweetness of the stevia.  But I don’t notice much of that funky, chemical-y taste that I usually taste when it comes to stevia.  I’m not going to say that I taste NONE of it, because I do taste some of it.  But, as far as stevia products go (or even as far as alternative sweeteners go), the flavor is very slight in comparison to the other products I’ve tried, and it is only when I’m really honing in on the flavors that I notice it.  While taking a casual sip … well, it really isn’t a strong enough flavor to notice.

Basically, what this tastes like to me is that I melted a candy cane in my cup of tea.  Now, I don’t think I’d want to use this on the first infusion of this particular tea … mostly because the peppermint flavor is STRONG and I don’t want the peppermint to overwhelm the delicious flavor of the tea.  That cup I’ll drink straight up.  But for a resteep, this is really delicious, and something that I’ll use again.

After such a successful tasting with my tea, I decided to pour myself a glass of filtered water and add a few drops to it… and see how I liked that.  And it is here that this product REALLY shines.  I taste no chemical taste.  I taste no funkiness whatsoever.  It just tastes like peppermint water.  Not like mouthwash or liquified toothpaste … but more like liquified peppermint chewing gum.  It is pleasantly sweet and minty … and quite simply delicious.

My Final Thoughts

Wow… I really did not expect to like this product.  As I said, I don’t like stevia.  But I do like NuStevia!  I love it in a glass of freshly filtered water.  It’s so refreshing.  I think I’ll try it in lemonade … and I think my oldest daughter will also love this, as she does enjoy peppermint, even more than I do.

Thank you NuNatural and TeaEqualsBliss for allowing me the opportunity to try this product! 

Comments
  1. Jennifer says:

    I’m so glad you liked this!!!! I love the ones I have tried so far and have many more on tap but I don’t know if I have the peppermint! LOL: ) You know I LOVE Peppermint!

  2. Anne Downen says:

    Seriously? You didn’t receive the peppermint? I can put it in one of the boxes I send you at some point if you did not receive it.

    I was surprised at just how much I liked this. You know me and stevia. It just isn’t my thing usually. I’ve even turned away from ordering some teas when I see stevia in the blend because I usually do not like it. This is easily the best stevia product I’ve tried, because I don’t taste the unpleasantness that I normally associate with stevia in this product.

Leave a Reply

