Belgian Pearl Sugar Waffle from Unique Belgique

Posted: August 26, 2012 in Knoshy, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This picture is from Knoshbox. Click on the pic to go there.

Product Description:

There is nothing like the sweet flavor of these Belgian Liege Waffles with crispy crunchy pearl sugar crystals! Imported from Belgium.

These Belgian Pearl Sugar Waffles are available in the Knoshbox’s Marketplace for a limited time.

Tea Suggestion:

Because I normally associate waffles with breakfast – I had to reach for a black tea because black tea  goes best with breakfast (maybe that’s a bit too traditional, but there you go).  Try this Shagadelic Breakfast Blend from The Tea Spot!  It’s “really groovy, baby,” and it turns this Belgian Waffle “snack” into a sweet, light meal of sorts.

What I Think:

This product had me scratching my head for a while.  A packaged waffle?  Packaged as a snack?  Really?  It just sounded kind of weird.  I guess I come from the school of thought where waffles are for breakfast, and are best when served freshly cooked right off the waffle iron.  My youngest daughter loves the frozen waffles … and that’s her usual breakfast choice.  But, when I want waffles, I drag out the old waffle iron and I make ’em from scratch.

So this Belgian Pearl Sugar Waffle packaged like a treat – like an alternative to a big cookie or a muffin – just seemed so different and unusual and really quite odd.  But hey,  I was willing to give it a shot.

For the purposes of this review, I heated the waffle in the oven for a few minutes (not enough to really get it hot, but, just a little warmer than the room temperature waffle).  I cut it in half to try one half as is – no topping whatsoever … and with the other half, I just couldn’t resist trying some of the Bing Cherry Sauce and Preserves that was also included in this month’s Knoshbox.  (The sauce is really yummy, by the way, and I’ll be reviewing that a little later).

While I did have my doubts, these are really yummy!  They are sweet … the same kind of sweetness you might get from a muffin … but in waffle form.  I can even taste (and feel the texture from) the little pearl sugar crystals in this, and this adds a really tasty (albeit sweet) dimension to the waffle.  The texture of it reminds me a bit of the sugary crumb topping you might find on a muffin … and here it’s been baked right in to the waffle.

And to tell the truth, I like this better without the topping than with it.  Without the topping, it reminds me a bit of a funnel cake, but a little more dense and because of the denseness it has a real hunger satisfying quality to it.  With the topping, it is really sweet – still delicious (and I’m loving the Bing Cherry topping) but just a little sweeter than I wanted.

My Final Thoughts:

Yeah, I really didn’t know what to think about this waffle thing when I first got it as part of my Knoshbox, but I really enjoyed it and I think it fits in with the “fair” theme that Knoshbox selected as it’s theme for August.  Tasty – if I saw these in the grocery store, I’d buy them again.  I don’t know that I’d place a special order for them online, but, if I happened to be at the store and saw them on the shelf, I’d add a couple to my cart.

Leave a Reply

