Ice Wine Jelly from Caramoomel

Posted: August 28, 2012 in Petit Amuse, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Photo from Petit Amuse. Click on the pic to go there.

Product Description:

Thanks to the folks at Caramoomel, you can now have dessert wine any time of the day. This jelly tastes exactly like ice wine because it’s made of ice wine! It would be perfect as a special treat for yourself, an impressive addition to any brunch, or a great gift for any dessert wine lover.

This Ice Wine Jelly is available at Petit Amuse.

Tea Suggestion:

Well, since I found this jelly to be rather enjoyable on my breakfast toast, I decided to enjoy a cup of delicious black tea to go with it.  I selected this Sun Moon Lake Red Tea from The Essence of Tea.  The rich, sweet flavor of the tea made a perfect accompaniment to the wine-y flavors of this jelly.  A really tasty pairing… this is the kind of breakfast I’d enjoy waking up to any day.

What I Think:

I held off trying this for quite a while for a couple of reasons.  The first is that I already have quite a few jellies open in the fridge, and I didn’t want to open another.  But the second reason was probably the main reason:  the idea of a wine-flavored jelly seemed very weird to me.  Now, normally, I jump at the chance to be adventurous when it comes to culinary delights (although there are some things where I draw the line), but for some reason, I just didn’t find the idea of Ice Wine Jelly to be very tasty.

Boy, was I wrong!  This is really very good.

For the purposes of this review, I spread some of this jelly on toasted, buttered 8-grain bread as well as scooped up a dollop of the jelly and ate it on it’s own.  I wanted to get the truest flavor, and I felt like that would deliver.  This tastes like Ice Wine.

Now, a disclaimer:  I don’t know that I’ve ever really tried ice wine.  But I have tasted Ice Wine infused/flavored tea, and this tastes very much the way I remember those teas tasting.  Sweet and grape-y.  Fermented grape.  A hint of grape-ish sourness.  Overall, a very pleasant taste.  This little jar of jelly won’t be in my fridge for long, no more need to worry about having too many jelly/jam jars in the fridge!

My Final Thoughts:

I don’t usually like grape jelly (my least favorite of the jelly selections in the grocery store, I only buy it when we’re on a very tight budget and I’ll be using it for my daughter’s peanut butter and jelly sandwiches), so I am doubly surprised that I am enjoying this as much as I am.  I don’t know that I’d buy it again, because as much as I enjoy it, I find other less expensive jellies to be just as enjoyable.  However, if I were looking for a unique gift for a wine enthusiast on my list, I might get them a jar!

Comments
  1. I have a wine fridge good quality and I like that. I also agree about your article. I like.

Leave a Reply

