Hawaiian Barbeque Tortilla Chips from Whale Tails

Posted: August 30, 2012 in Petit Amuse, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

picture from Petit Amuse. Click on the pic to go there.

Product Description:

Smoky BBQ flavor with sweet mango and a hint of lime makes this chip a little sweeter than most BBQ chips but more addictive. To add even more charm, the chips are in the shape of whale tails. And of course, we love that the company is active in marine conservation!

These chips are available from Petit Amuse.

Tea Suggestion:

With chips, I like a tall glass of iced tea!  And I’ve really been enjoying the cold-brewed green tea selections from Den’s Tea lately.  Right now, I’m sipping on a glass of Pear flavored iced tea from Den’s Tea, and it tastes awesome with it.  I think that if I had thought about it last night when I was preparing my iced tea for today, and had I realized I was going to go on a snack attack and try these chips, I probably would have tried the Mango flavored iced tea from Den’s… but I didn’t.  The pear goes nice with it though… pleasantly sweet, with just the right amount of green tea flavor.  Very refreshing and accents the fruity notes of these chips very well.

What I Think:

When I first got my Petit Amuse sample box, I found myself wondering what was with the name “Whale Tails”?  But, then again, what’s with the name Doritos, or Pringles, or any other brand name out there, right?  But now that I’ve opened the bag of these Hawaiian Barbeque Tortilla Chips from Whale Tails, I get it!  The chips are shaped like whale tails!  Neat!

Look! A Whale Tail!

And they taste good too!  I found the idea of barbeque flavor on a tortilla chip to be a little unusual, since most of the tortilla chips that I’ve tasted are usually nacho or salsa or ranch, and barbeque is usually just on potato chips, but this is no ordinary barbeque flavor.  It has a delightful fruity twist to it.  I can taste the lime and mango in there.  YUM!  It adds a delicious sweetness to the usually tangy barbeque sauce flavor, and the sweet yet savory toasted corn taste of the chip adds a very pleasing contrast to this sweet yet zesty barbeque flavor.

My only real complaint is that I tend to prefer a thinner chip.  These are thicker, more substantial, and I suspect that is necessary to maintain the shape.  But I think that the fact that these are organic and that the company is an active contributor to ocean conservation is enough to give me cause to forgo the thinner tortilla chip for these Whale Tails.  (Not to mention the amazing flavor!)  Also noteworthy is that these are gluten free, and while that is not something that is important to me personally, I know that it is to many out there.

My Final Thoughts:

I really like these a whole lot.  If I happen to see them in my local natural food stores (which is usually the only place I’ll find things like this locally), I’ll put a bag in my shopping cart.  I might even order some more from Petit Amuse at some point, I think that the flavor is so tasty that I’ll probably want  more of this in the future.

Leave a Reply

