Sweet & Salty Cashews from Nuts + Nuts

Posted: September 3, 2012 in Petit Amuse, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Picture from Petit Amuse. Click on the pic to go there.

Product Description:

You haven’t tasted real cashews until you’ve had them from Nuts + Nuts. They are incredibly fresh, crunchy, and highly addictive. These are similar to the lightly salted cashews but slightly caramelized to enhance the crunch add a touch of sweetness.

This Nuts + Nuts product is available at Petit Amuse.

Tea Suggestion:

I like to grab iced tea when I have a salty snack, because it’s easier to guzzle down iced tea than it is hot tea (which I prefer to sip), and when the salt builds up on the palate, you want to wash it down!  I wanted something unflavored, though, so that I could enjoy all the layers of flavor that these cashews had to offer.  I decided to brew up some of this Shou Mei White Tea from BigTeaHouse which is light and allows for the enjoyment of the snack while still providing some intriguing flavors on its own.  The sweetness of the tea and the creamy vanilla tones really brought out the sweetness of the caramelized cashews.  A very nice pairing!

What I Think:

Oh yum!  These are amazingly good.

When I saw “sweet and salty” on the package, I knew I’d like them.  I love flavor contrasts like sweet and salty or spicy and sweet.  What I’m really loving about these cashews though, is that they’re not heavily sweet.  They’ve been lightly caramelized … and there’s not even enough caramelizing to this to make the nut feel sticky.  Just enough to add a little texture to the already crunchy cashew, and a hint of sweetness to contrast with the saltiness.  In fact, I’d say these are salty and sweet … not sweet and salty, if you know what I mean.

The small package I received in my sampler box from Petit Amuse was vacuum packed, so while the package was very compact, it held a LOT of cashews in it!  Most of the cashews are whole, not broken up bits, or even halves.  I like that.  (Seriously, I think I found enough small, broken bits to comprise just one whole cashew.  Not much at all!)  You get a whole nut and they taste fresh and have a nice crunch to them.  The caramel coating on this is very slight, not enough to add any kind of chewy texture (in fact, it adds to the crispness of the cashew).

The flavor is of course sweet and salty, but there is a certain savory quality to these too.  What is that?  It almost tastes like … garlic!  Or possibly onion?  Then I read the nutrition information for the ingredients:

Roasted cashews, garlic, sugar, sea salt, coconut oil.

Yep, garlic.  I love the size of this ingredient list.  Just five ingredients:  short and simple!  I even love that these are processed with coconut oil instead of some of the cheaper “filler” type oils that are on the market and over-used in snack foods.  I feel like these are healthier snacks, even with the sugar in them, than a typical “junk food” snack.

My Final Thoughts:

The sweet, the salty, and the crunch are all very satisfying to those snack/hunger cravings that we all get from time to time, and I like that these satisfy those cravings without lots of extra ingredients that we don’t need.  I feel like this is not only a delicious snack that curbs the hunger pangs but also somewhat healthier than some of the snacks I might otherwise reach for.   Put simply, these are really delicious – tasty enough to eat instead of a sweet treat, but also salty and savory enough to enjoy as a fatty potato chip substitute.

Leave a Reply

