Rosemary & Olive Oil Potato Chips from Deep River Snacks

Posted: September 20, 2012 in Knoshy, Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Photo from Knoshbox, click on the pic to go there!

Product Description:

These Deep River Snacks Rosemary & Olive Oil chips are delicious with various Belgian and German premium beers.

These chips are available at Knoshbox.

Tea Suggestion:

Well, as you probably guessed, I didn’t eat these chips with beer.  When it comes to alcohol, I am a TeeTotaler (a TEAtotaler!) … but not for religious or other reasons … just because I don’t like alcohol all that much.  I do not completely abstain, I take an occasional sip or two… but, for the most part, I’m just not all that fond of the drink … unless that drink is TEA!  So instead of a dark beer, I chose a black tea to drink with these tasty snacks … specifically, this Black Tea Merlot from Vintage TeaWorks!  And while I wasn’t too sure about the combination, since a beer was the suggested beverage with these chips rather than a wine, but, I really like these two together.  The rosemary seemed to compliment the currant flavors in the tea … and I could really taste the olive-y notes in the chips much better WITH the tea than when I munched on my first few chips without the tea.  A really delicious pairing!

What I Think:

I am LOVING these chips.  I don’t know that if I saw “Rosemary and Olive Oil” flavored chips on the shelves at my supermarket that I’d be enticed to grab a bag … then again, I might, just for the sake that it is a DIFFERENT flavor … one you don’t see every day.  You’ll see a lot of sour cream & onion and barbeque flavored chips, but not so many Rosemary & Olive Oil!

These are “kettle” style chips, they are a little thicker cut, and are cooked until bubbly and crispy.  They have that hearty CRUNCH to them.  They aren’t those wispy little potato chips.  These are substantial!

And so is the flavor!  The rosemary starts off rather delicately (at first they smell more rosemary-ish than taste it), but as you’re nearly finished with the serving the rosemary really comes through – tasting slightly lemony with just a hint of resinous pine.   They are salty, but they don’t taste overwhelmingly of salt.  The olive oil comes through very nicely too, I can taste the faint flavor of olive, it’s really quite tasty!

On the downside, these are a little on the greasy side.  I poured out my serving onto a piece of white paper just to gauge the oiliness of it, and some oily specks did seep into the paper.  I would like them to be a tad less oily… but then, they are “Olive Oil” flavored … so I guess some oil is to be expected?  I don’t think they are any more greasy than a typical mass-produced potato chip, in fact, I’d say these are probably a little less greasy than the thin-cut, popular brand from the grocery store.  And they taste better … too!

My Final Thoughts:

These are deliciously different – a nice alternative to the tired old flavors that you find in the grocery store.   I could taste the rosemary, I could even taste the olive oil!  Tasty … but probably not something I’d indulge in on a regular basis.  But that’s what I love about the Knoshbox, I get to try a lot of different, delicious food in small portions, stuff I wouldn’t normally buy for myself.

Leave a Reply

