Double O Cheesy Kale Chips from snackLets

Posted: November 6, 2012 in Goodies Co., Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Product Information:

Undercover Agent Double Oh Cheesy is our most popular flavor yet. We smother each leaf in Agent Cheesy’s super secret sauce, which is also 100% vegan. Let Agent Cheesy spring into action and tantalize your tastebuds with each satisfying crunch. One bag is never enough, so make sure you stock up!

These kale chips were part of my first (September’s) Goodies Box!

Tea Suggestion:

Because these chips already have an earthy, vegetative flavor to them, I wanted something that was refreshing and would help keep the palate from feeling overwhelmed.  Actually, with my first few bites of these kale chips, I wanted something that was going to taste sweet and cake-like to help offset the earthy, veggie-ness of the snack!  So I chose this Blueberry Streusel Honeybush from 52Teas to help make this snack time taste a little more decadent.  The sweetness of the blueberry and the sweet pastry-like flavor helped bring balance to the vegetative taste of the chip, while the hint of lemon in the tisane brought a bright note, a touch of acidity that I really enjoyed.

Where to Buy:

These are not the first kale “chips” that I’ve tried.  In fact, I liked the other cheese flavored Kale Chips (these are also vegan) that I tried and reviewed previously so much that when I found them in my local Whole Foods, I bought a package of them.

These kale chips from snackLets are not as immediately pleasing as those first kale chips that I tried – the instant those others hit my palate I was in love!  Like love at first bite.  In contrast, these I had to “get to know a little better” before I could say I liked them … in fact, before I started writing this review, I thought it was going to be a negative review because I didn’t think I liked them.  But now that I’ve given them some time … I’m liking them more.  I don’t think I’ll ever get to the point where I’ll love them enough to buy them again, but, I’m eating them.  And I’m enjoying them.

So what’s the biggest difference between these and those?  These are not as cheesy as the others… and they taste more like Kale.  They are more vegetative, more earthy, and even a little bitter in the first few bites.   In contrast, these taste “healthier” than the others did, but I think that is what makes the biggest difference to me.  I want my healthy snacks to not taste this healthy.   At heart, I’m a junk food junkie, but, I know that it’s not smart to eat like that … so I want to be able to snack smart, but I don’t want it to taste like I’m snacking smart.

My Final Thoughts:

I liked these, but I didn’t love them.  I probably won’t seek this particular brand of kale chips again.  But if I see the other brand, I’ll still grab that one!  That one lets me snack smart without tasting like it!

You can subscribe to the Goodies Co. Box here.

Leave a Reply

