Hazelnut Cream Soda from Mt. Angel Brewing Company

Posted: November 8, 2012 in Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Product Description:

THE WILLIAMETTE VALLEY IS ALSO KNOWN FOR ITS WIDE VARIETY OF NUTS. AMONG THE MOST POPULAR IS THE HAZELNUT. KNOWN AROUND THE WORLD FOR ITS QUALITY AND GREAT NUTTY FLAVOR IT IS USED IN EVERY TYPE OF DESSERT POSSIBLE. WE HAVE TAKEN THE HAZELNUT EXTRACT AND CREATED A UNIQUE TASTE IN THE SODA WORLD. SMOOTH, CREAMY AND NUTTY IT IS BEYOND A DOUBT A GREAT ALTERNATIVE FOR YOUR SODA TASTES.

Learn more about Mt. Angel Brewing Company on their website.

What I Think:

I happened upon this bottle of soda while dining in a Portland restaurant.  I had never heard of hazelnut soda before, and I was definitely intrigued!  I love hazelnuts, and while I’m not a big fan of soda pop (I much prefer tea!), I will occasionally indulge in a soda now and then, usually when I find something interesting and unique like this Hazelnut Cream Soda!

And it certainly is unique, although there is something quite familiar about it too.  It has a base flavor of vanilla cream soda – a really rich, delicious vanilla cream soda with an emphasis on the VANILLA!  Very sweet, very creamy, and tastes a bit like a ice cream soda … imagine having an ice cream soda with a big scoop of real vanilla ice cream that has melted in the soda … that’s what this tastes like!  Yummy vanilla goodness.

But let’s not forget about the hazelnut, because that’s in there too!  The hazelnut melds beautifully with the vanilla tones, to create a sweet and nutty, slightly toasty flavor that perfectly complements the flavor of the vanilla.

My Final Thoughts:

This is really, really good.  I mean, I was fairly confident that I’d enjoy this, but, I didn’t realize what a treat I was in for with this soda.   As I’ve said many times before, I’m not a big soda enthusiast, but, if I found this while shopping I might pick up a bottle for one of those special times when I want something sweet and fizzy.

Leave a Reply

