Chocolate Chip Brownie Brittle from Sheila G’s

Posted: November 17, 2012 in Goodies Co., Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Product Description:

Everyone knows the best piece in a batch of brownies is the crispy corner. With Brownie Brittle, every bite is a corner with silky smooth chocolate chips! Crunchy, wafer-like texture and deep chocolate flavor, this brittle is a little taste of heaven.

I received a pouch of this Brownie Brittle in my October Goodies Box.

Tea Suggestion:

Because these are very crunchy and cookie-like, I recommend choosing a tea that you’d drink with crispy cookies, like maybe a dessert tea!  Since these are really chocolate-y on their own, I thought that a chocolate tea might be a tad too much (although there really is no such thing as too much chocolate, is there?) so I decided to go with a coconut tea!  This Coconut Dream from New Mexico Tea Company is one of my favorites, and combining the chocolate brownie brittle with the coconut tea is quite indulgent!

What I Think:

Is it any surprise that I love brownies?  Hello?  I’m a chocoholic!

And when I bake a batch of brownies, my favorite parts are the edges.  I love the tender, chewy, fudge-y flavor of the brownie, but I like it even better as it gets toward that slightly dry, crispy edge.  When  I bake brownies, it doesn’t get too crispy or crunchy, there’s just a little bit of buttery caramelization there, and it’s heavenly!

So when I read the package to this, suggesting that with this Brownie Brittle there is no fighting over the corner piece … I thought, Oh!  Awesome!  That slightly crisp edge!  YUM!

But, this is a bit MORE than crispy.  It’s crunchier than any brownie edge that I’ve ever produced.  I usually go for the slightly underbaked brownie so that it retains some of that fudge-y texture once it’s cooled.  But this tastes as though the brownie were overcooked!  Not burned, exactly, but certainly left in the oven too long.  It’s dry, absolutely non-fudge-y, totally un-chewy, crisp as a cracker and thin as one too.

I like it alright as it is chocolate, but unfortunately, that it it’s only redeeming quality.  The chocolate.  I think that the concept of offering all the crunchy edges of the brownie is a good one, but, it just doesn’t work out with this product.

My Final Thoughts: 

As the only thing that’s really good about this is that it’s chocolate, it is certainly not something I’ll be buying again.  I think I might like them better if they were a little thicker (like maybe a chunky biscotti) or if it were a little less crisp, with some true brownie-esque qualities to it.  As it is, it sort of feels like I’m eating a burnt brownie without it actually being burnt.  That part is good, of course, but, I find myself wanting more brownie than brittle.

Leave a Reply

