Natural Flavored Wai Lana Chips

Posted: December 17, 2012 in Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

wailana

Product Description:

Made from nutrient-rich cassava, these gluten-free chips contain 30% less fat than regular potato chips. With an unforgettable crunch and an abundance of tempting flavors, Wai Lana Chips are a uniquely delicious, all-natural snack.

Learn more about Wai Lana and their products on their website.

Tea Suggestion:

When I snack on chips, I usually prefer cold liquid refreshment … iced tea!   And since I had just recently brewed some Houjicha from Tealet, and what was left in the pot had cooled, I decided to pour that over ice and enjoy it with these chips.  This pairing really made a lovely snack!  The toasty flavor of the Houjicha brought out some of the hints of spice in the Cassava that I might not have noticed otherwise.

What I Think:

Not too long ago, I was contacted by Wai Lana products, after they had read my review of the Herb & Garlic flavored Wai Lana Chips … they offered to send me some more of their chips to taste and review!  Since I really enjoyed the Cassava chips from Wai Lana that I had tried previously, I was certainly eager to try more of the Wai Lana products so of course I said yes!

This is one of four samples that I was sent, and I chose to try this one first because I wanted to get a better idea of what the Cassava chip tasted without seasoning or flavoring.  And I really like it!  I like this better than I would like a plain potato chip, which I usually find relatively boring.

These chips are really light and crispy, with a sort of “air popped” quality to them and I like that texture.  It still as a sort of “fried” kind of taste to it that is very appealing, but, it doesn’t taste greasy.  The texture of these reminds me a bit “Funyuns” … you know, those onion ring like chips?  They’re a bit thinner than the average Funyun, but, it has that same crunchy kind of texture … and after a while I pick up a very delicate onion flavor which may be from the Yucca (Cassava) or the leek that I see in the ingredients list.  It’s a very slight onion-y flavor, but it is really quite nice.

The Cassava is a relatively mild taste, very much like a potato would be, only I think that this has just a little bit more of a savory edge than a typical potato chip.  It could be because of the leek flavor that comes through, or it could be that what I’m tasting is the Cassava, it’s hard to determine.  But, I do prefer the texture of these Cassava chips versus the texture of the average, thin-cut, greasy potato chip.

My Final Thoughts:

These unflavored or “Natural” flavored chips would be great served with dip, if you want to (the curved, cup shape of these chips would make a great dip chip!) but I found them quite tasty without any dip … just eaten on their own.  Crunchy and delicious.  I did like the Herb & Garlic flavored ones a bit better than these, just because I like garlic!  But, I did really like these, and I liked that I was able to explore the flavor of the Cassava a bit more!

Comments
  1. Jennife says:

    My Yoga Mat is a Wai Lana Yoga Mat! She’s a gentle soul! I enjoy her DVDs!

Leave a Reply

