Lime Chili flavored Wai Lana Chips

Posted: December 26, 2012 in Product Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

limechiliProduct Description:

Made from nutrient-rich cassava, these gluten-free chips contain 30% less fat than regular potato chips. With an unforgettable crunch and an abundance of tempting flavors, Wai Lana Chips are a uniquely delicious, all-natural snack.

Tea Suggestion:

For these flavorful (and spicy!) chips, I recommend having something that is easy to gulp should your palate need a bit of quick refreshment after eating a handful of these chips … for that, I recommend iced tea, and preferably a white tea (white tea has natural cooling properties).  Try this Elderberry White Tea from Whispering Pines Tea.  I found the light, crisp taste of the white tea along with the tart berries really complimented the spicy, tangy taste of these chips nicely.

What I Think:

My second of four product samples sent to me by Wai Lana, I decided I’d try these because of the spicy kick and contrast in tastes that the name of the flavor promised.

And these definitely have a bit of a chili kick to them, but I like that it’s not an overwhelming amount of hot chili flavor.  The lime is prominent, and I like the contrast between hot and sour, with just a hint of sweet.

A bold flavored chip.  I don’t really taste much from the cassava with this flavored chip because my taste buds are too preoccupied by the spicy chili flavor and the tart and tangy notes of lime.  The lime seems to be the strongest note here, and that suits me just fine, I like the way it tempers the heat of the chili just enough to keep me munching.

I find the texture of these chips to be really irresistible.  Crunchy, not greasy, and as I’ve described other chips from Wai Lana, very much like the onion ring-like snack chip, only thinner.

My Final Thoughts:

I enjoyed these chips … although, I don’t know that if I were out shopping that this is the flavor I’d pick.  I think I preferred the other two flavors I’ve tried thus far, but I do like this.  I just like the others better.

Leave a Reply

