Dark Quinoa Organic Chocolate Bar from Alter Eco

Posted: February 8, 2013 in Chocoholics Unite!, Goodies Co., Product Review

Product Description:

light crispy crunch, an artisan update on a nostalgic childhood treat

I received this chocolate bar in my November Goodies Box.

Tea Suggestion:

I loved pairing this chocolate bar with Earl Grey teas like this Posh Earl Grey from Lu-Lin Teas.  I love the way the flavor of the dark chocolate enhances the bergamot orange notes from the tea.  It’s really a delicious tea time pairing!

What I Think:

I enjoyed this chocolate bar spread out over many weeks, and I think that’s one of the things I liked best about it.  It was so rich, sweet and chocolate-y (I think 60% cocoa is just the right level for me!) that one small square broken off the bar was more than enough to satisfy my chocolate craving! 

I really wasn’t sure I would like it though … I mean, Quinoa?  Really?  I like quinoa just fine when prepared as a side dish … but in a chocolate bar?  But as it turns out … the quinoa ends up tasting a lot like the crisped rice in a Crunch bar.  It has that same crackly crunch to it, and I find that added texture makes this a very satisfying chocolate bar, indeed.

My Final Thoughts:

I love that this is an organic chocolate bar … I love the snap of the dark chocolate, and the richness of it … and I love the quinoa in it!  I especially loved how satisfying I found just a small piece of the chocolate bar to be … this is something I will definitely purchase again!

Leave a Reply

